Mercury must be in retrograde

[Warning: this is a post that begins with navel gazing and ends with boring drivel.  No pictures of London and Paris yet.  Or yarn.  Or cupcakes.  But all of that will come, I PROMISE]

So, I had every intention of posting last week, but then I had a health scare.  One relating to my previous crazy health thing.  It turns out I need to have surgery again.  It’s nothing too serious, because this time they know what they’re looking for, but it’s still rather unsettling.  Good news though: I will have enforced recovery (meaning: reading) time!  And although I will be recovering from the foggy joys of anesthesia, I’m a fast healer and relish any opportunity to not do much (I’m usually efficient in what I do because at heart, I’m the laziest person I know).

On the reading front, most of my time has been spent doing research.  I’m coming into the MA program here as a second year student, which means I have to choose three papers to revise and present in the spring.  I have two picked out and a third waiting in the wings (maybe).  Only I’ve discovered a problem: they’re crap.  I’ve blogged about my pathetic research method before.  Turns out that downloading and printing off journal articles isn’t quite the same thing as reading them.  Who’d have thunk it?  But I’m thoroughly enjoying Peter Marshall’s biography of “my man,” William Godwin, and I have a pile of articles that I can’t wait to get into.  Then it’s Edna’s turn (as in Edna Ferber–I have a bad habit of assuming close friendships with dead authors). After that, Aphra Behn might get a second chance to shine, but we’ll see about that one.

And one last thing in this incredibly boring post: I LOVE my new research buddy Zotero.  Love it.  Because it’s free.  And I’m cheap.

6 responses to this post.

  1. So does this mean farewell to your troublesome appendix? Good luck and best wishes for a quick recovery. And yes, Mercury is in retrograde, which has proven, at least in my world, to be a bad combination with the Solstice and full Moon!

    Reply

  2. Sorry about the surgery! I hope your recovery goes super-fast. Enjoy that extra reading time!

    Reply

  3. Wow oh wow. Sorry you have to have surgery but I hope you have a quick recovery time. And I loved Aphra Behn in graduate school, really and truly.

    Reply

  4. Clair: Unfortunately, Fred the pesky appendix will most likely remain firmly attached to me. I will, however, be facing the potential of losing other bits and pieces. At the risk of TMI, I might lose my right fallopian tube. Ah well, I guess that’s why I have two!

    Dorothy: I’m actually really looking forward to enforced bed rest and reading time. So I hope the recovery goes fast, but not too fast!

    Courtney: Thanks! And poor Aphra Behn. I didn’t give her the attention she deserved in my last paper, so I think I need to make it up to her somehow…(although I’m not sure revising the paper would be enough, given how crappy it was). 🙂

    Reply

  5. I too have the same research troubles: although mine often takes the form of lugging home hundreds of pounds of library books and thinking that this is the same as actually reading them. I mean, if they are right there in the kitchen and living room as I go about my day, some of the knowledge contained within them MUST seep off the shelves and into my brain, right?

    Reply

  6. At the time this was posted, Mercury was easily visible in the pre-dawn sky, so you could check the retrogradedness just by looking out the window.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

