A Weekend of Do-Nothingness

It is spring break.

To celebrate this fact, I allowed myself to do nothing this weekend.  NOTHING.  The result? I was really, really efficient.  Although Apparent Dip and I slept in really, really late on Saturday (gearing up for the worst day of the year: spring’s daylight savings day), we nevertheless accomplished a boatload of errands before 1 p.m.  It was rather frightening actually.  I’m not sure what to do with myself when I get things done like this.  We even cleaned (and not “cleaning” as in: “hey, let’s move that pile over here, and that pile over there.”  No, this was real, honest cleaning!).

We went to a yarn store, where I subjected AD to the horrors of helping me choose a yarn for my newest project.  Luckily, the store had a pet bulldog who could distract him at crucial moments (i.e. when I paid for said yarn).  I’ll post pics soon…I promise.

And then I spent the rest of the weekend knitting.  No reading.  At all.  We even weathered the time change yesterday, although it was rough–in a household managed by three cats and a rabbit, losing an hour for no good reason ranks right up there with the apocalypse.  We tried to soften the blow with catnip and toys, but I don’t think it helped much. The bunny, as always, has no clue as to what’s going on.

And now, I’m actually looking forward to get back to work on my research projects, which are threatening to get out of control if I don’t put a lid on them soon.  Hooray for spring break!

4 responses to this post.

  1. I hate losing that hour, too. I got up Sat. morning and just went ahead and set my watch, so I could ease into the idea. Now that we’re on the other end of it, though, I’m already enjoying the longer exposure to daylight.

    Reply

  2. Emily: I have to admit, it’s been rather nice to have light into the evening a bit. However, I’m bummed because it’s once again dark when I get up…and I was just getting used to the sunshine!

    Reply

  3. Yay for recharging the batteries! I cleaned this weekend too (like a two/three hour deep clean)-it makes it so much nicer to come home!! I hate daylight savings-the whole idea just seems silly. I lived in San Antonio for a long time, which is close enough to the equator it didn’t matter too much (except for the time we forgot about it and tried to go see a movie), but in the mountains, it made it get dark insanely early.

    Reply

  4. Hope you’ve enjoyed your Spring Break. Mine starts at the end of work today (3:00), and I CAN’T WAIT. I plan to sleep in, read, plays SIMS 2, and generally be worthless for a week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

