What do you mean it’s Saturday already?

Somehow the days just disappeared this week (they’re sneaky like that). And because it’s Saturday morning (we won’t mention that it’s late Saturday morning and that I overslept), and I haven’t enjoyed a towering cup o’ coffee just yet, I will once again torture you all with bullet points!

  • The fellowship interview went really well. I’ve been recommended by the director of graduate studies, the interim chair of Judaic Studies, and the dean, but it’s waiting final approval on the actual chair of Judaic Studies, who is currently in Jerusalem on sabbatical. So I’m hoping that by next week I’ll know. He’s been faxed all of the information and the English department really wants this settled, because they can’t award other funding packages to the other incoming M.A. students until they know whether I have the fellowship. I just want to know one way or the other…
  • Yesterday was a wasted day. It started out well: I baked a batch of cupcakes for Apparent Dip’s Friday beer get-together (I guess it’s my department as well, since I work there 15 hours a week). There’s nothing like waking up and baking. However, I then proceeded to read the same page five times over without absorbing anything. And so it continued. Hmph.
  • Because a girl can never have too many things going on at once, I started another knitting project last night. What’s that? Incomplete sweaters, you ask? I have no idea what you are talking about. I plead the fifth. The new project is a lace scarf. It’s green and reminds me of the spring. I’m coming to realize that small projects may be all I can really handle at the moment. Socks, scarves: they at least stand some chance in hell of being finished.
  • I would say that I’m looking forward to relaxing over spring break in a couple of weeks, but spring break just means that I work more now that those pesky seminars are out of the way. I still have my day job, but now I have no other excuse for avoiding the library (well, besides the fact that it’s such a ridiculous place–things are still as crazy there, but I think it’s starting to grow on me).
  • And now: what I need to accomplish this weekend. I need to put this out there so that I stay on track. I have to read Willa Cather’s My Antonia for my American reading group and I also have to finish various books/articles on John Dryden so that I can write up a historiographical type essay for next week’s long 18th century seminar. I need to finish reading the few articles for my class discussion in my American lit seminar (I already finished Sister Carrie–this is a major thing for me! Usually I leave everything to the last minute). I need to go to my local library–I’m hoping that two more of my three reserves have arrived: Ellen Litman’s The Last Chicken in America, and Jo Nesbø’s The Redbreast (as recommended by Danielle). And then it’s off to a favorite coffee shop to get some work done! And one of these days I should get going on the second half of George Meredith’s The Egoist for my 19th-century reading group. Oh the exciting life I lead!
5 responses to this post.

  1. Love Cather. Love LOVE. Enjoy that one. Congrats on the interview!

    Reply

  2. Congrats on things going well-I hope the chair replies quickly. 🙂 I hate those days where I can’t read to save my life…I usually end up cooking a lot and watching DVDs. And good luck getting all that reading done. 😉

    Reply

  3. Posted by servetus on February 25, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Love Nesbo. Good choice. If you liked him try also Anne Holt, Hakan Nesser, Henning Mankell, Arne Dahl, Arnaldur Indridason.

    Reply

  4. Andi: So far, I’m really enjoying My Antonia. I’m definitely going to have to read more of Cather in the future.

    Eva: I can’t wait to get the answer about this fellowship! I just hate not knowing… I’m funded either way, but this fellowship is such a wonderful thing…it even has money set aside for research!

    Servetus: I was disappointed that the Nesbo book hadn’t arrived when I went to the library over the weekend, but hopefully it will be here soon! I’ve really enjoyed the Henning Mankell books I’ve read, so I’ll have to look into the others that you mention as well. 🙂

    Reply

  5. The second half of “The Egoist” is pretty exciting. More exciting than the first half, at least.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

