Booking Through Thursday

btt2.jpg

Okay, even I can’t read ALL the time, so I’m guessing that you folks might voluntarily shut the covers from time to time as well… What else do you do with your leisure to pass the time? Walk the dog? Knit? Run marathons? Construct grandfather clocks? Collect eggshells?

In part I have to echo bookeywookey’s initial response: I’m in grad school, so I don’t have a ton of leisure time. That said, one of the reasons I don’t seem to be reviewing books as often as I could on this blog is because I also have something like a bajillion hobbies competing for my attention. And there are times when I just can’t read another word (like last night when I came back from 6 straight hours of seminar and basically sat in front of the t.v. and drank a lovely cup of my home-made hot chocolate). But when I’m not reading, I’m either knitting, spinning (yarn, not bikes), weaving (although I haven’t done this for a while and my loom is looking forlorn), cooking/baking, or working out on my treadmill. I go through waves of obsession with my hobbies: for example, I’ll go through a sewing fit, where I just have to make quilts (or at least cut out the fabric for quilts and then let them sit, half-made, in a drawer until the next sewing fit hits me). In the past I’ve done beadwork (as in making jewelry and weaving with beads), crochet, counted cross-stitch, latch-hook stuff, you name it. And at any given time I have a number of different projects going on at once (for example, I think I have a disgraceful number of knitting projects on the needle right now–something in the double digits I’m sure). I’m the same way with books. I have to have at least 2-3 books going at any one time, because, you know, I might get tired of one but still want to read something… This severely hampers my ability to finish anything (not to mention that it leaves my apartment rather cluttered), but I rationalize this away with the contention that my inability to achieve a level of completion really points to my understanding that it’s the journey, not the final destination that counts.

So you see, my indecisive nature in regards to my academic life plays itself out in my spare time too. My mom and I like to call ourselves Renaissance women, but I think that’s just a fancy way of saying that we get bored easily (and that at heart, I’m rather lazy).

7 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, I know about obsessions and unfinished projects too! Stick with the Renaissance woman label and ignore the unfinished sweater, I say.

    Reply

  2. Ahh yes, I go through the hobby fits myself. Right now it’s definitely reading/writing, but next week it might be painting or SIMS2.

    Reply

  3. Renaissance sounds much nicer that ADD!

    Reply

  4. Geranium Cat: Renaissance woman it is! I have a feeling that one reason I have delayed organizing my yarn/project stash to date is that I don’t want to be confronted with all of the unfinished stuff I’ve conveniently forgotten about 🙂

    Andi: That is the reason that I am not allowing myself fun computer games of any kind–I have a feeling that they would take over (I love SIMS). 😉

    Ted: I think so too. And perhaps I just have a weird form of ADD in my academic life? You know, the kind that allows me to spend 3-4 years intensively engaged with one subject but then makes me yearn for greener pastures? 🙂

    Sorry for all of the smiley faces, I’m just really glad it’s Friday!

    Reply

  5. I think it is very cool that you can spin and weave. I’d love to learn how to do those things. But I can relate to half-finished projects. I’ve quilted (well, pieced not done the quilting), done paper arts, do lots of needlework, and want to learn how to make penny rugs. So I have these things sitting around in various stages of completion. And I totally agree that it is the process–quality time doing rather than quantity for finishing…right?

    Reply

  6. This week’s BTT question was really fun. It’s interesting to see what everyone likes doing with the rest of their free time.

    I know how hard it is to fit in fun stuff while you are in grad school.

    Reply

  7. Danielle: It’s totally about the process…at least, that’s what I tell everyone when they ask how a certain project is going. I have to say, the only projects that I do seem to finish are weaving projects, because once you get the loom ready to go, the actual weaving doesn’t take that long. But I’ve wanted to make things on the loom for a while now, and it stalls out just in the thinking phase! 🙂

    Karen: I just checked out your blog–I’ll be seeing you on Ravelry too! I was amazed at how many people knit in their spare time (although I don’t know why it should surprise me–I guess it’s just because in my immediate circle of friends NO ONE knits…it’s rather sad).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

