How sweet it is…

To be finished!  I actually turned in the last of the papers of doom on Wednesday, but last night I imbibed a bit too much at Apparent Dip’s department’s Christmas party (damn that vodka!), so I count that as my official entry into the next three weeks of getting a head start on next semester’s reading relaxing.  But now I find myself once again faced with the eternal dilemma for book lovers: what shall I bring with me when we head down to Washington D.C. for Christmas?  We’re driving, so weight isn’t a problem.  My problem is, that I generally like to take a wide selection (a sort of cross-section if you will) of my bookcases.  Because as much as I love making lists, they don’t really do it for me when it comes to personal reading.  I have to be in the right mood.  And thus I need to bring as many books as I can so that I will have one for any mood that might strike me.  I am well aware that bringing a ton of books is a sure sign that I will actually be so wrapped up in hanging out with family, playing with my nephew, cooking, etc that I won’t actually read anything.  But not bringing books is not even an option.  I might as well leave the house naked (and we don’t want me frightening little children do we?).

So, here are the potential candidates at the moment:

  • Our Mutual Friend ~ Charles Dickens (it’s a big, fat book with tiny print and it’s Dickens.  What more can I say? It’s screaming for me to read it)
  • The Mystery of Edwin Drood ~ Charles Dickens (Dickens’s unfinished last novel)
  • East Lynne ~ Ellen Wood (a sensational novel I’ve wanted to read for a while now)
  • Demons ~ Dostoyevsky (because winter = Russian reading in my mind and I’ve been feeling deprived since papers and grad apps have been distracting me)
  • The World to Come ~ Dara Horn (A novel that weaves a connection between the painter Marc Chagall and an American Jewish family, the Ziskinds.  I have been wanting to read this for a looooooooong time.  I also have her first novel, In the Image on my list)
  • The Yiddish Policeman’s Union ~ Michael Chabon (I’m currently reading this one, so it might be finished by the time we leave)
  • Dreamers of the Day ~ Mary Doria Russell (I won an advanced review copy through Library Thing’s Early Reviewers Group)
  • Uncommon Grounds: The History of Coffee and How it Transformed Our World ~ Mark Pendergrast (my desire to bring some non-fiction with me + and my well-documented love affair with coffee = a perfect book)
  • Thomas Hardy ~ Claire Tomalin
  • Trust ~ Cynthia Ozick (Ozick’s first novel about a nameless protagonist on the search for her ever-elusive father)
  • Foreskin’s Lament ~ Shalom Auslander (Auslander’s painful–and darkly humorous–memoir about his Orthodox Jewish upbringing and the impact it has had on his life as an adult)

I have no idea how I will whittle this list down.  If anything I’ll find more books to add.  Any suggestions from my readers would be greatly appreciated.

And if I don’t blog before we leave, have a wonderful holiday season!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Queen Mother on December 21, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    You must still have room in the back seat of the car for a few more books for goodness sakes. Also, there is the trunk. Since it is a rental make sure you remove said books before returning – they might charge you more for the weight of the books. Have a wonderful trip – your husband is a captive in the car – and as I recall you LOVE to talk to captives. Love you.

    Reply

  2. Posted by mother-in-law on December 21, 2007 at 1:14 pm

    I will be bringing a couple of light-weight mysteries for the plane ride so you’ll have those to choose from, as well . . .

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sisyphus on December 21, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Twelve books? (counting In the Image) Twelve Days of Christmas? It sounds like it was Meant to Be. You just _must_ take them.

    Reply

  4. Oh, do read “Our Mutual Friend”. I adore that one; it’s my favourite Dickens so far. Have you seen the BBC production?

    Reply

  5. I hope you took Edwin Drood and actually got to read it. So much fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

