still alive

but.barely…

These seminar papers are kicking my ass this time around.  One down, one more to go, and then I will be back in the blogging business–I hope.  I just haven’t had time to eat or sleep in the last few days (seriously, I’ve had maybe 8 hours sleep in the last 3 days combined), but I have been drinking enough coffee to keep a small cruise ship afloat.

The positives?  I’ve discovered a new diet plan!  Here’s how it works: leave your writing until the very last minute, glue your laptop to your lap, and type like a madwoman for five straight days.  Eat sporadically, if at all.  (It helps that Apparent Dip is out of town. When I’m alone I forget to eat sometimes and he would totally be sabotaging this diet plan right now.  Dinner?  Hah!  Hah, I say!)  Seriously folks, I lost 4 pounds in the last 2 days alone.  At this rate I will be in the negative digits by the time I’m finished with grad school.  This diet could provide some competition for my other previous weight loss plan: appendicitis!

Ok, nose to the grindstone…

7 responses to this post.

  1. Hey, you! Stop that! Go drink some orange juice stat, and at least eat some toast or pretzels or something! And take a nap —- at the very least get a full night’s sleep before proofing the final papers and turning them in —- you don’t want to send them out sleep deprived, that’s for sure!

    Don’t forget, the diss is a marathon, not a sprint. So you should start up the training now.

    Best,

    sisyphus

    Reply

  2. Sending good thoughts your way! I remember the marathon that was the end of last May, when I had to finish my 100+ page honor’s research paper and then write my thirty-forty page senior thesis. I lost quite a bit of weight as well! (fortunately, they bussed all the seniors out to a water park the very next week, so it was a good thing)

    Reply

  3. Go, go, go, just don’t disappear! My last final is tomorrow so I know what you mean!

    Reply

  4. Sisyphus: I love the marathon analogy. My problem is that I’m soooo ready to run a marathon, but the bastards holding the hoops keep demanding sprints! And I’m just not that fast…

    Eva: Thanks! Your good thoughts must have helped because I finished! Granted I worked until 5:30 this morning, slept for two hours and then headed into work, but the paper is done, done, done!

    Ted: Good luck to you as well! And no worries, I won’t disappear, I like my blogging friends way too much. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I feel the need to come and cook for you RIGHT now. But then again, I’ve been known to skip a meal or two in my time, so I’ll just say…good luck getting to the end!

    Reply

  6. Everythinginbetween: I’d LOVE it if you came to cook for me–anytime really! 😉 I’m happy to report that I just sent off the final paper! Lots of sleep and full meals are in my immediate future…

    Reply

  7. Have no fear, Apparent Dip is almost here. Soon I will arrive home, make Sarah eat vegetables, and order will be restored!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

