My first Booking Through Thursday

btt2.jpg

Do you get on a roll when you read, so that one book leads to the next, which leads to the next, and so on and so on?

I don’t so much mean something like reading a series from beginning to end, but, say, a string of books that all take place in Paris. Or that have anthropologists as the main character. Or were written in the same year. Something like that… Something that strings them together in your head, and yet, otherwise could be different genres, different authors…

I would have to say that books for a reading challenge often fall under this category, but perhaps that’s why I’m so abysmal at finishing (or even starting) challenges. I have the best intentions really, but I agree with bookeywookey–I don’t want reading to be an obligation. I like having a list to work from, but I rarely pursue the list of books in any sort of orderly fashion and I’m usually attacked by random books along the way (going to the bookstore is something like an Indiana Jones adventure in my household–I’m constantly dodging appealing books. Or, I should say, my wallet is doing all the dodging). So ultimately, the reading I do for my graduate seminars ends up being the only reading that is really strung together in any sort of conscious and thematic sense (it also appears to be the only reading that I actually finish). After a reading binge I might find that there was something to link books together, but it wasn’t something I necessarily paid attention to at the time. I just pick up what appeals to me at any given moment (and all too often I put it down without finishing it when it no longer has that impact).

4 responses to this post.

  1. Yep, same here. Now that grad school is behind me I find that my reading is really all over the place. I’m a finicky, moody reader, so I doubt there will ever be any reason or pattern to it.

    Reply

  2. I almost never plan to be on a roll, for pretty much all the same reasons you state. But sometimes I do get onto an author/genre/topic kick for a short time.

    Reply

  3. Hee, hee…”attacked by random books.” What a great phrase. I know the feeling. I have lots of half-finished books for that very reason.

    Reply

  4. Andi–I think that’s why I always have something like 6 books going at any one time. I read according to mood and it changes so often!

    Heather–I tend to get on an author/genre kick when I’m reading mysteries. Because they don’t take long to read, I need to read a lot more of them to satisfy a craving (they’re my drug of choice when my brain needs to relax).

    softdrink–my husband likes to joke that books literally fly off the shelves and attack me. Considering that I am a klutz and have been known to actually sustain injuries while reading (such as a shoulder injury related to a dictionary) it’s not that far off! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

