Random thoughts on Frankenstein

Just wanted to pop in and mention that in a few weeks I’ll be reading Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. I’m rather excited about it, particularly as there is a new cultural history of Frankenstein that I’m anxious to read: Frankenstein: A Cultural History by Susan Taylor Hitchcock. But really, nothing can compare to the genius that is Mel Brooks and Gene Wilder, so I leave you with them:

6 responses to this post.

  1. This is actually a decent representation of my defense.

    And, my new favorite part of this clip, the fact that the audience had heads of lettuce with them.

    SuuupPer Dooo-per

    Reply

  2. Thermochronic: Who doesn’t bring lettuce to a play? Now I totally wish I had brought some throwable veggies to your defense! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Yayyy! I hope you love ole Frankie as much as I did.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Queen Mother on November 14, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    It just goes to show you that even in Mel Brook’s day there was a definite trend toward vegetarianism. Notice that no one threw a steak. There has to be a cultural statement in the various versions of Frankenstein as portrayed in film that would really be interesting to explore.

    Reply

  5. My husband brought home the Cultural History of Frankenstein the other day. It looks great. And I love Young Frankestein. What a brilliant movie!

    Reply

  6. Andi: I’m really looking forward to it!

    Queen Mother: You know what that means: a trip to the bookstore! he, he, he.

    Stefanie: I think I’m going to have to break down and buy the book this weekend–I’ve read an interview with the author that was interesting and it would go so nicely with my other reading. And perhaps I’ll have to break down and get my very own version of Young Frankenstein. It’s a movie I really must call my very own!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

