To steal a line from Monty Python … aaaaaaaaggggggggggghhhhhhhhhh

Must. make. it. to. Thanksgiving.

So I’ve been living in la-la land lately it seems. Thought I was doing fine, getting my work done, feeling a wee bit hurried in the past few weeks, but nothing I couldn’t handle.

I was wrong.

I made the fatal mistake of looking at the calendar…and a minor freak-out occurred. It appears that I have been operating under the assumption that Thanksgiving is a month away. And did you know, thinking this does not make it so. In fact, Thanksgiving is next week (for those of you who might be in denial as I am). That means that my semester comes to an end in something like three weeks. That means that I am not as on top of things as I thought (I think a more pertinent question to ask myself is: Why am I surprised? This happens every single year).

So, to do this week:

  • Finish a bibliographical assignment in the next 2 hours.
  • Finish rereading Daniel Deronda (ha, ha, ha, ha)
  • Read Book 6 of Middlemarch and an article for my reading group on Thursday
  • Finish James Hogg’s The Private Memoirs and Confessions of a Justified Sinner today (this is a rather trippy book that I am whole-heartedly enjoying, even though I have no idea what’s going on!)
  • Read the first half of The Moonstone by Wednesday (I might skip this as I reread this section over the summer and I have a decent idea of what happens)
  • START WRITING!!! I really, really would like to have two paper drafts completed by the end of November so that my first two weeks of December don’t suck. Not to mention that my little word-o-meter thingy on the sidebar is pathetically stuck at 0%.

I also need to remind myself that this list would be much more manageable if I wasn’t busy procrastinating with various knitting projects or fun books (I love the Sally Lockhart series by Philip Pullman!). Will I never learn?

9 responses to this post.

  1. This time of the semester is crazy, isn’t it? I remember having to write those course papers, and how stressful it all was! Best of luck with the writing and reading.

    Reply

  2. I forgot we were supposed to read Daniel Deronda by Thanksgiving. I echo your hahahaha.

    Reply

  3. Why is it that when you have a deadline to read something, everything else seems suddenly so fun? I’m the queen of procrastination, so I have no advice.

    Reply

  4. Dorothy: Good luck to you as well! I just love how this time of year manages to sneak up on me every single time!

    Sylvia: I have a feeling that I will be hanging out with Daniel quite a bit in the next few days. Hopefully my husband won’t take it the wrong way when Daniel comes to bed with me! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Staci: I really wish I knew why this happened! Right now I’ve discovered that I ABSOLUTELY HAD TO cast on two new knitting projects (even though I have 8 on the needles), and I found myself reading YA literature when I clearly had more pressing deadlines. I guess I’m just a born procrastinator (always good to know I’m not alone in that though!).

    Reply

  5. LOL! At least he doesn’t take up as much room as the big strapping Adam Bede. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  6. Sylvia: My husband laughed when I told him about this little blog conversation: he’s a geologist who studies thermochronolgy, which we joke is all about him dating rocks (and no, I don’t get jealous)! We are nerds of the highest order…

    Reply

  7. Sending caffeine asap.

    Reply

  8. Heh. By that token I guess dendrochronologists date trees. Is there any thing a nerd won’t date? ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

  9. Andi: I think the caffeine is working! I’m actually getting everything done (with the exception of the writing, bleh).

    Sylvia: LOL! You know, I think we take what we can get! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

