InaDWriMo

writingbutton.gif

I’ve seen this on quite a few other blogs (Academic Cog, Professorial Confessions, Dr. Brazen Hussey, etc.) and I decided to jump in. Although I don’t really get into the nitty gritty details of my academic life as much on this blog (with the exception of a few posts here and there and a brief mention of course reading), and I’m not even officially in a grad program yet, much less writing a dissertation, I’m jumping on the wagon! I’m pledging the very modest effort of 10,000 words in the month of November–essentially the drafts of two papers that I need to write. If I could get the drafts done by November 30th, I won’t have to drive Apparent Dip crazy in the first two weeks of December (well, I might drive him crazy, but not with paper-writing issues). Although, he’s planning on leaving me for one of those weeks to go to a conference–coincidence? I think not. Anyhoo, if I join InaDWriMo (International AcaDemic Writing Month) I get to put a nifty word-count meter in my sidebar (I do so love widgets!).

I’m still working on the R.I.P. II Challenge wrap-up (I’m slow on this, I know, but I’ve been feeling rather blah about blogging this week, so bear with me). I’m hoping to get to it before November is over…

4 responses to this post.

  1. Mm, wish I could say I was tempted to get academic, but I am decidedly not. My first publication comes out in a week or so, so I plan to bask in that glory before I overstress myself to write something else. heheheh

    Reply

  2. Andi: Congrats! If I had a publication coming out I would rest on my laurels as well! As it is, this is writing I was hoping to do anyway, but it’s a semi-public way of getting my arse in gear and hopefully avoiding a prolonged battle with procrastination. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Best of luck with your writing! It sounds like a great plan.

    Reply

  4. Dorothy: I just hope it works!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

