In the works…

This week has witnessed a slump in my reading. In part this is due to my genuine sadness at having finished Caleb Williams, which I enjoyed wholeheartedly, even if the ending didn’t feel completely satisfying. In fact, I think I like the book even more because the ending wasn’t satisfying. I rather like it when authors play with readers’ expectations. It never fails to force me to take a deeper look at the novel as a whole.

And my challenge reading will have to take a backseat this week due to an enormous avalanche of course reading. Actually, it’s not so bad. More philosophical novels (these more narrowly focusing on gender), the first 42 chapters of Vanity Fair (which I already read so this will just be a re-read), and then research books: Walter Scott’s Ivanhoe, Thackeray’s Rebecca and Rowena, and Grace Aguilar’s The Vale of Cedars. On top of this I need to finish the first three books of Middlemarch for my 19th-century reading group meeting next week.

I’ve also been rather sidetracked by life lately. I mean, there’s a neighborhood street fair this weekend that I have to go to. I love these little festivals and to top it off, the local branch of the library is having a book sale (can’t pass that up). And then there’s the fact that I’ve become obsessed with the idea of knitting my husband a sweater. I found the perfect pattern in brooklyntweed’s “Cobblestone.”  And for the first time I found an entire sweater’s worth of yarn in my stash–it’s a sign that this was meant to be (I hope). I have a rather abysmal track record when it comes to finishing sweaters, but I attempt to cover this up by arguing that I’m really a “process” knitter and that I’m not really interested in the end product as much as the experience of knitting. This is only partly true.

But in order to keep myself honest, here’s what I’m hoping to accomplish in the near future:

  • a post relating to Middlemarch
  • a post relating to Makine’s The Woman Who Waited for the Slaves of Golconda (I will participate in this one, I swear!)
  • get back into the creepy world of Dracula (thank goodness I’m a wimp who can only handle a little bit of peril)
  • get back to Jean Rhys’s Wide Sargasso Sea (particularly as Jane Eyre is coming up on the syllabus–I love it when my “fun” reading and my “fun school” reading mesh so well together!).
  • Bake some apple cider cupcakes (we’re having a little potluck with the neighbors upstairs this weekend–I love my new neighborhood).

Time to stop slacking around and get to work! But first I’ll read some blogs…

7 responses to this post.

  1. You certainly have a full plate, so if you need to pass some of those cupcakes, please, feel free. 😀

    Your reading sounds YUMMY!

    Reply

  2. Andi: I’ll try to put up more pictures when I bake the cupcakes, so I can at least let you feast on the cupcakes vicariously! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I don’t know how you do all that reading — when I was taking classes in grad school, I had no time whatsoever for reading outside of class work (and it’s not that I was so busy, just a slow reader, I guess). Are those philosophical novels the ones you listed for me last time or are they new ones? I’m curious as always 🙂

    Reply

  4. Dorothy: Chances are I won’t be getting much outside reading done, but I like to pretend I will. And they’re the same philosophical novels as last time (and so far not as enjoyable as Caleb Williams). Although I think in the weeks following we’re reading some Ann Radcliffe and Matthew Lewis’s The Monk, which I’m really, really looking forward to.

    Reply

  5. I’m still working on the Makine. I have not been rushing it since it is such a small book, but at the rate I’m going, I wonder if I will finish on time!

    Reply

  6. Danielle: I’m hoping to read Makine today if I can…the deadline keeps sneaking up on me!

    Reply

  7. Wow, lots of good stuff in the works.

    Middlemarch is one of those classics I never got to — and a copy of it languishes on my shelf. I look forward to any future observations and comments you might have on it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

