TGIF: Random edition

It seems that after writing papers my brain turns into jelly and the only thing I can really accomplish when it comes to posting, are bullet points. So here are some more!

  • I just got my morning cup of coffee on campus: eggnog flavor! I mean, I know it’s getting cooler outside, but Christmas already? Of course I had to order it, because the coffee on campus isn’t the greatest, and at least the flavoring keeps it interesting.
  • I hope that Vegan Cupcakes do take over the world some day, because I would love to live in that world. I first encountered this baking book in a friend’s kitchen, and then Stefanie at So Many Books mentioned it a while back. So then I had to try it. Last week I made peanut butter cupcakes with a chocolate ganache . They were so amazing that I can’t even describe them. Last night I decided to make a simple vanilla cupcake with chocolate buttercream frosting (containing neither butter nor cream). Another hit. This weekend I might go for the Apple Cider cupcakes for my birthday instead of a cake (Apparent Dip and I have a tradition: we make each other birthday cakes and then decorate them horribly. At first it was because we suck at decorating cakes. Now we do it because we still suck at decorating cakes and it’s really funny to see the results.)
  • We enjoyed the vegan cupcakes so much that we went out to buy Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s other cookbook, Vegan with a Vengeance. And coming in October: Veganomicon. Also, check out her cupcake blog here and her cooking blog (The Post Punk Kitchen) here. Apparent Dip and I are not vegans, but as vegetarians we like to mix things up a bit and eat vegan a couple of times a week–we’ve really enjoyed her recipes so far.
  • My reading is still wonderful, but I’ve been slowing down a bit. I’m hoping that I’ll pick up the pace again this weekend, if only to clear the way for next weekend, when I’ll be reading more philosophical novels (that I’m afraid won’t be as engaging as William Godwin’s Caleb Williams has been) and re-reading the first half of Thackeray’s Vanity Fair. By the way, if you want a great version of VF I highly recommend the Oxford edition that I’ve linked to–it’s the only one that includes all of the illustrations that Thackeray drew.
  • I have been attacked by the knitting bug again. I’ve been working on Elizabeth Zimmerman’s pattern for a Baby Surprise Jacket, but I had stalled out, and the poor thing has been sitting on my desk staring at me in a rather reproachful manner (note: I linked to brooklyntweed’s version of the BSJ.  He is an amazing knitter and I stand in awe of his work.  Moreover, he’s a fantastic photographer.  I recommend you take a gander at his blog if you like to look at beautiful creations). No longer! Last night I picked it up again and although I have yet to finish, I am now scouting yarn stores for yarn to make more of these. They’re quite addictive and they’ve even made me like garter stitch. Since everyone I know seems to be having babies lately, I see no end in sight for potential recipients. (I will see if I can get Apparent Dip to take pictures of the progress this weekend. I would take the pictures myself, but they never turn out, and goodness knows, I don’t need another form of artistic expression. I have enough as it is–it’s tough being a Renaissance woman!)
  • In addition to knitting I’ve also been spinning (or attempting to). It’s slow going as I’m a newbie at this, but I joined a fiber club at Hello Yarn. You sign up for three-month segments, and then once a month you get 4 – 6 oz. of hand-dyed fiber to spin. It’s quite fun! (Again, I’ll try to get pics of the progress or lack thereof). And anyone interested in beautiful yarn/fiber, check out her blog and shop, she has some great stuff.
  • This weekend may be my birthday weekend, but we have a lot to accomplish around the house. First: clean. I’m afraid the dust bunnies will start attacking our actual bunny, and that would not be a pretty sight. Second: paint the dining room/office. Third: realize that no matter how clean the place is, the three kitty bandits will mess it up the first chance they get (note: these bandits sometimes pose as snuggly cats–don’t fall for it, that’s just a ploy to get you to take them home so they can wreak havoc. We fell for it three times, and boy, are we paying for it).

Ok, that link-fest was tiring, so I’m off to knit for a bit before hitting the books once again. Happy Friday everyone!

10 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve always wanted to learn to knit, but my attempts have been less than satisfactory!! I think it is cool you’re learning to spin. Is it hard? Have a Happy Birthday and hope you don’t spend the whole time cleaning (though that seems to be the only time I can catch up on things, too!).

    Reply

  2. Danielle: Thanks! And I don’t think spinning is hard per se, it just requires a lot of practice to get the hand-eye coordination down. Right now I spin on a drop sindle (vs. a spinning wheel) which is another reason why it’s slow going–but I’m hoping to knit a hat out of the yarn when I’m done!

    Reply

  3. Ohhh-that cupcake book looks awesome! Hmmm….next amazon splurge, I think that one will hop in the basket. 🙂

    I’m so jealous that you’re a vegetarian; I usually am, but in preperation for the Peace Corps (I’m probably going to West Africa), I’ve begun incorporating meat back into my diet. I really miss being veggie. 😦

    Reply

  4. Happy birthday! What philosophical novels will you be reading, if I may ask?

    Reply

  5. Eva: I fall off the veggie wagon occasionally, but my husband has been a vegetarian for 13 years now, and I find I’m not missing meat anymore. Good luck in the Peace Corps–I think incorporating meat back into your diet will be worth the great experience that will give you! Now I’m jealous 🙂

    Dorothy: Next week we’re reading excerpts from Elizabeth Hamilton’s Memoirs of Modern Philosophers, Mary Hays’s Memoirs of Emma Courtenay, Amelia Opie’s Adeline Mowbray, and then excerpts from Mary Wollstonecraft’s philosophical treatise: A Vindication of the Rights of Women. It’s not that much, but in combination with reading the first half of Vanity Fair it will be enough! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Thank you! I feel like I’m taking this class vicariously through you! I haven’t heard of the Hamilton; I’ve read the Hays, although I don’t remember it well, and I’d really like to read the Opie novel. I most definitely should have read all of the Wollstonecraft, but I’m ashamed to say I haven’t — only sections. I tried twice and got side-tracked. Anyway — enjoy all the reading, it sounds great.

    Reply

  7. Dorothy: No problem! This class is shaping up to be one of my all-time favorites, and I’m thrilled to share the love 🙂

    Reply

  8. I’ve got to try the peanut butter cupcakes! I am very belated, but I hope you had a great birthday. We got the Vegan with a Vengeance book after the cupcake book and have had great success with all the recipes we’ve tried so far. Yum!

    Reply

  9. Stefanie: We’ve also had success with recipes in Vegan with a Vengeance (we particularly enjoyed the peanut sauce with udon noodles and seitan). I’m looking forward to her new cookbook! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Stefanie: We’ve had good luck with Vegan with a Vengeance as well. I’m really looking forward to her new cookbook! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

