Russian books update

So after perusing my bookshelves (now that they are all nicely organized–every once in a while I stop and stare at them in happy wonder) I’ve started compiling a list of Russian authors. If you’re interested in checking it out, there’s a link to the page under the header of the blog.

In other Russian author news, James Meek, the author of The People’s Act of Love (2005) has an interesting article about Mikhail Bulgakov’s novel, A Dog’s Heart here (it’s an excerpt of the introduction to the new Penguin edition due out next month–in the UK at least). I loved The Master and Margarita, and I’ve had Bulgakov’s Black Snow and The White Guard on my shelves for a while–perhaps this is a sign that I should read more of his prose. So many books! And why do they all have to make an appearance in my life just as a new semester (and a rather intimidating reading schedule) begins?

EDITED TO ADD: I’ve added some authors to the Russian authors page and while doing so, I discovered the European Classics Series, which contains quite a few Russian works. I recommend checking it out if you are interested in Russian literature (or increasingly obsessed, as I seem to be).

7 responses to this post.

  1. That’s a very useful list of Russian authors!

    Reply

  2. Dorothy: I’m hoping to add to it as I can (particularly where women authors are concerned). Now I actually need to sit down and (re)read some of them! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. Hmmm. If you have time, another publisher to check out is the Northwestern University Press. They have their “Writings from an Unbound Europe” series which features many worthy but obscure (obscure to an English audience) Slavic authors.

    One of them is Evgenvy Popov, who wrote The Soul of a Patriot & Merry-Making in Old Russia. Haven’t read him though, so – no idea if he’s any fun.

    Oh, a contemporary female Russian author I’ve accidently stumbled upon (I was reading the book spines in the library) and I want to read for next year is Ludmila Ulitskaya. I’m looking at either The Funeral Party or Medea and Her Children.

    Is the “Glas New Russian Writing” journal still around?

    I’m having fun just throwing titles at you. Part of the fun of a reading plan is just drawing up the list.

    Have fun with the Russians. My friends find my interest in the Russians morbid, but I have always found them fun. Hee.

    Remember, if it’s not fun, it’s not worth doing.

    Reply

  4. Dark Orpheus: I love that you’re throwing titles at me. And I wanted to thank you for the Russian short story recommendation–it’s wonderful and I’m enjoying it thoroughly. And how could the Russians not be fun? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  5. You’re welcome, and thank you for allowing me to share. I’m glad you’re enjoying the Robert Chandler anthology. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  6. I was a Russian major back in the dark ages (okay, the early 80’s) and Master & Margarita was my absolute favorite book. I actually got to see the play at the Taganka theatre in 1984. Front row center seats. It was amazing.

    fleecyknits
    another Sarah B. from Ravelry ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  7. Sarah: Oooh, I’m jealous. Master and Margarita is one of the books from college that left a lasting impression. I’m so glad someone from Ravelry stopped by! (and not only a fellow Sarah B but a Russian major too!) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

