R.I.P. II Challenge

R.I.P. II Challenge

I’ve decided to throw all caution to the wind and join yet another challenge. It’s Carl’s R.I.P II Challenge (Readers Imbibing Peril), running from September 1st to October 31st. I recommend checking it out here, as there are a number of different paths of peril to choose from. Because I’m a bit of a chicken, I’m going with Peril the Fourth:

Peril the Fourth (Otherwise known as Just a Bit of Peril):

Some of you wonderful readers, or would-be readers, may have a tendency to shy away from this genre, thinking it is just not your cup of poisoned tea. However, it wouldn’t be a challenge if I wasn’t challenging you. This peril is for those of you who want to take a chance. Simply choose one book that you feel meets the criteria for Readers Imbibing Peril II and, well, imbibe it!

Just a bit of peril for me, please. I’m trying to be responsible about this. Not only will I be starting a new semester and two other challenges, but I’m notoriously easy to freak out. There are movies that are rated NS for “No Sarah.” There are movie trailers on t.v. that give my overactive imagination nightmares. The very mention of the movie Psycho can interrupt my showering cycle. So, since I’m a fan of personal hygiene and sleeping well, I’ll choose the “little bit o’ peril” option. (As an example, I made the mistake of thinking that watching the adaptation of Henry James’s Turn of the Screw would be a great idea when I was home alone. I mean, it’s Henry James! Ummm, I only made it through the first 20 minutes. It’s a creepy story and even creepier to watch. Lesson learned: I’m a wuss).

That said, I’m going to make a list of possible reads to choose from because I’m also capricious. Besides, if I choose to do more than one book, all the better! (I’ve recently discovered the joy of low expectations. This way, I can’t help but surprise myself). I’m leaving out the books I’ll be reading for class (it feels like cheating), although I might provide a review of those books as well just to get my brain working.

  • The Mysteries of Udolpho ~ Ann Radcliffe
  • Dracula ~ Bram Stoker
  • The Thirteenth Tale ~ Diane Setterfield
  • Edgar Allan Poe ~ various short stories
  • Kept: A Victorian Mystery ~ D.J. Taylor
  • The Turn of the Screw ~ Henry James

For class I’ll be reading Austen’s Northanger Abbey, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and Wilkie Collins’s The Moonstone, so those might end up as reviews, although I won’t actually count them as part of the challenge. I’m getting goosebumps already….

24 responses to this post.

  1. You have a fantastic list to choose from! Hope you enjoy whichever you choose to read!

    Reply

  2. Great list. The Thirteenth Tale is a wonderful read, hope you enjoy it!

    Reply

  3. Chris: Thanks! I’m really looking forward to the challenge.

    Quixotic: I had started The Thirteenth Tale when it first came out, but then school got in the way. I’m looking forward to reading it in full!

    Reply

  4. Out of those I’ve only read Dracula and Edgar Allan Poe’s stories, are both were of course excellent. I considered including The Turn of the Screw too, since it’s been on my TBR pile for years. I might add it if I have the time.

    Reply

  5. I read The Thirteenth Tale last year. It’s an awesome book!

    Reply

  6. I decided to just try and read one book, too, though I would like to read some short stories! If I end up reading more it will be a bonus. If I set out to read four and I don’t I will just be disappointed, so it is better this way. I’m all for low threshholds of expectation, too! I am going to read The Mysteries of Udolpho as well! I’ve had my eye on that one for a long time. Your class sounds like fun–great books the professor chose.

    Reply

  7. Nymeth: I only know the outline of The Turn of the Screw but it looks great (albeit if watching the adaptation, do not watch alone if you don’t like creepy characters showing up at windows and that sort of thing).

    Kailana: I’ve heard so many good reviews of this one, and it’s been sitting abandoned on my shelf–I hope it’s one I read!

    Danielle: Hurray of Ann Radcliffe! I’m really looking forward to my classes this semester, and the class with Austen and Shelley also has us reading more Radcliffe (Sicilian Romance) and The Monk by Matthew Lewis (among others). I’m impatient for the semester to start! 🙂

    Reply

  8. I’m easily terrified too — I really don’t like scary movies! I’m still considering whether to do this challenge or not; we’ll see.

    Reply

  9. It’s nice to actually look forward to school, isn’t it?!

    Reply

  10. Dorothy: My scaredy-cat nature is terrible and generally makes tv watching in the month of October impossible (too many freaky trailers that I can’t plan for!). I recommend the challenge though as there’s something for everyone…

    Danielle: I wholeheartedly agree. September is my favorite month of the year: the weather gets crisp, leaves change colors, and I get to buy school supplies (I don’t really need them anymore, but it’s always fun to walk up and down the aisles of pencils, pens, and notebooks….) And the reading for this semester is going to be fantastic. I love the novels and I’m excited about the theory–it doesn’t get any better than that!

    Reply

  11. Oohh, wonderful choices! I bought ‘Kept: A Victorian Mystery’ but haven’t read it yet. So I’ll look forward to hearing what you think of it if you are able to work it into the challenge.

    Reply

  12. All right, now I feel like a real wus, because I’ve decided the Outmoded authors challenge is all I can handle, despite the fact I read books from the R.I.P. genre every fall as a matter of course. Meanwhile, you’re going to be in school AND taking on all these challenges. Oh well…
    If you freak out easily, I’d say stay away from Dracula, which still gives me goose bumps just thinking about it, although I love it. The Thirteenth Tale is wonderful, and not quite as high on the “freak out” scale.
    Oh, and don’t feel bad about the movie adaptation of Turn of the Screw. I never would have been able to watch that one alone.

    Reply

  13. Ex Libris: I’m hoping that I can fit “Kept” in, because it looks interesting!

    Emily: I wouldn’t feel like a wuss if I were you–my failure rate is pretty darn high when it comes to challenges. But for some warped reason, I seem to manage my time better when my schedule is completely packed. I chalk this up to my genetic disposition toward laziness. Give me an inch of room, and I’ll be sprawled on the couch taking a nap. And as far as Dracula is concerned, I’m really, really hoping that my “analytic, lit/crit” side of my brain switches on so that the “freaked out all the time” side doesn’t win out. And I’m hoping to try the Turn of the Screw adaptation again….when my husband is home and all the lights in the house are on. 🙂

    Reply

  14. There are movie trailers on t.v. that give my overactive imagination nightmares.

    I’m the exact same way! But luckily for me, my imagination doesn’t work overtime with books like it does with TV. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Courtney: Welcome back! I’m hoping that my imagination is only succumbs to terror when forced to endure visual images of scary things. For some reason books creep me out at the time, but the fright doesn’t linger (for days, months, years sometimes) the way tv images do (thank goodness!).

    Reply

  16. Courtney: oh, wait, one exception: Stephen King. I tried reading It and made it through the first chapter (I think). Now I just freak out every time I walk past a sewer opening on the street. So no more King for me!

    Reply

  17. I hope you love The Thirteenth Tale as much as I did!

    Reply

  18. Posted by glitterlessgold on August 26, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    I love The Turn of the Screw. It made me literally gasp.

    And regarding Stephen King…when I was little I saw about five minutes of the movie IT and ever since have been terrified of clowns, and know better than to even try to read the book! I like his work normally, though, particularly the short story “The Langoliers.”

    Reply

  19. Dewey: I’m really looking forward to reading it!

    Glitterlessgold: I am with you on the clowns. I unfortunately saw the movie “Killer Clowns from Outer Space,” (or something like that), and it made me hate clowns even more! I hope there comes a time when I try King again, but for now, (and the sake of my jittery nerves) I’m afraid I’ll be keeping a distance.

    Reply

  20. I’m reading Dracula and Thirteenth Tale for this challenge. It will be fun to read your reviews. This is a new genre for me. I hope I don’t get too creeped out.

    Reply

  21. Framed: I’m hoping to read more than one, but we’ll have to see. They all look so fun!

    Reply

  22. wow…Wilkie Collins’ Moonstone…Can’t wait to read your thoughts on this one! I’m reading Woman In White by Collins for RIP….Good luck this semester!

    Reply

  23. Posted by lilbichwitch on September 16, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    You have a great list I can’t wait to read the Thirteenth Tale.

    Reply

  24. lilbichwitch: Thanks! I’m looking forward to getting at least one of these read, but given my rather poor track record when it comes to reading challenges I’ll need all the luck I can get! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

