Someone’s got a case of the Mondays…

I swear, a poem will be appearing on this blog later today. I’m just trying to catch my breath from this weekend. With Apparent Dip back in town, we tackled the never-ending pile of boxes once again. We’re now down to the dregs, but my will is fading fast. However, with only two weeks left before the school year begins in earnest, I need to get this done. And once the last cardboard box has been broken down, I have a foot-high stack of papers/articles that need to be put into my computer database and filed, books to organize, and general cleaning to do. The fun never ends around here!

Actually, the thing I dislike most about moving is its guilt-inducing power. See, my mom is Catholic and my dad is Jewish, so I get a concentrated beam of guilt from both sides of my genetic code. Unpacked boxes forever lurk in the corner of my eye when I try to sit down and watch a movie (Hot Fuzz–hilarious!) or read a book (it should not take 2 weeks to read Wilkie Collins’s The Moonstone, particularly as I’ve read it before!). Until things are completely squared away in the apartment I don’t feel that I have the right to do things like take a day-trip with Apparent Dip (which we did anyway, yesterday) or knit some super-cute things for my new nephew.

I have found time, however, to become completely obsessed with my personal Russian authors reading challenge. I’ve been collecting titles like a fiend and will hopefully have a list to post soon.

Sorry if this post is a bit down, but Mondays and I don’t really get along (Thursdays, however, are one of my favorite days). Perhaps a dose of poetry this afternoon will make it all better…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Mondays can be rough (plus it’s the thirteenth), but it sounds like you have accomplished some things this weekend. Thursday will be here soon!

    Reply

  2. Ian: Thanks! I think the problem is that I’m bored out of my mind right now. My job is not what I would call interesting, and I’d so much rather be home reading and/or knitting. Heck, I’d rather be organizing the clutter! But now that I’ve had my morning cup of coffee, I feel much better! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

