August Plans

So, because I am apparently incapable of accomplishing anything without making a list first, I’ve decided to bullet-point the month of August to within an inch of its life. Here are my plans:

  • revise rewrite a paper I wrote for a history seminar and transform it into a paper for english
  • finish the following books (if I make it through these, I will have pre-read a decent amount of books for this coming semester):
    • Vanity Fair
    • Jane Eyre
    • The Moonstone
    • Frankenstein
  • unpack/organize books
  • finish knitting something (anything!)
  • take a day/weekend trip with Apparent Dip that does not include work of any sort or even visiting other people. Yup, that’s right, a vacation-y type trip, just the two of us (the last time we had a vacation of any sort like this was our honeymoon 2 years ago, which happened 3 years after we were married).
  • read something that isn’t for school (and try not feel guilty about it)

This may not seem like much, but given that I have a tough time getting through plans for a single day (i.e. it’s now 12:30 in the afternoon and I have yet to shower or get dressed), this list might be an uphill battle! I’m actually trying to get myself motivated to finish the book unpacking as Apparent Dip comes home tomorrow afternoon and I don’t want to reveal the extent to which I have gone over to the dark side of slacker-dom (as if he doesn’t already know!).

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love the idea of diving into those long books — and reading ahead for class is probably a very good idea! What classes will you be taking?

    Reply

  2. Dorothy: I’ll be taking two grad seminars–one on 19th century British Lit and one on the Romantic period (we’re reading Walter Scott!). Last semester was my American Lit semester, so it’s great to jump across the pond. And I’m loving all of the books so far, particularly Jane Eyre and Vanity Fair. Although right now, The Moonstone is really warming up and I can’t put it down (it’s a re-read for me, but it’s been a long time)….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

