Anniversary, bah!

For the second year in a row, my husband and I mutually forgot our wedding anniversary. In the chaos of moving, Apparent Dip getting ready to head out for a week of vacation, and my plans to watch t.v. unpack rigorously, the date just slid under the radar. Part of the problem is that we’ve only been married for five years, but we’ve been together for 13. Moreover, the wedding was a VERY low-key affair (immediate family only and a 15-minute ceremony that ended before we had originally planned to begin, woohoo!) and until that day we had always charted our relationship by the date we actually started dating…September 9th.

But, given that we’ve been married for five years (despite the fact that he’s a Chicago Bears fan and I’m a Green Bay Packers devotee), here are five things about my husband that make him my “kindred spirit” (as Anne of Green Gables would say):

  1. He has a fantastic sense of humor. Unfortunately, very early in our relationship I made the mistake of telling him this and I’ve been paying for it ever since. I wouldn’t trade it for the world.
  2. He is the only person in the world who truly knows me. When I’m around him my defenses come down and I feel like I can just be.
  3. We met the first week of college and in a way we’ve really grown up together. We’ve both changed, but I love the fact that I’m still discovering new things about him.
  4. He keeps me sane. I tend to think fast, make faster decisions, and generally lose my temper when faced with some obstacles. He is an incredibly soothing person and reminds me to slow down and smell the coffee every once in a while.
  5. He supports me. Whether we’re making life decisions, going through crazy appendix health scares (my appendix “leaked” but apparently healed itself, leaving behind a poisonous thingy that had to be removed through surgery–although I still have the appendix), struggling through grad school….he’s there (well, except for the fact that my appendix ruptured while he was out of town, but that’s not his fault). I have had the strength to make some of my biggest decisions because I knew I could lean on him.
  6. Oh, and he moves all of the books (I think I have around 600 or so) and yarn I’ve collected over the years without complaint.

So happy belated anniversary Apparent Dip! Here’s to remembering the next one (on time, hopefully).

8 responses to this post.

  1. Aw, happy anniversary! What a sweet post. Here’s to the next five years!

    Reply

  2. Well, congratulations!

    Reply

  3. Sounds like love!

    Reply

  4. All together now, AWWWW. Happy anniversary!

    Reply

  5. Thanks everyone! Although Apparent Dip and I are feeling rather sheepish, as we reminded ourselves of our anniversary the weekend before, and then proceeded to forget it altogether. But hey, as long as we both forgot, right? Yet another sign that we’re meant to be together… 🙂

    Reply

  6. Happy anniversary! We’ve been married 5 years, too, and our anniversary is TODAY.

    Reply

  7. Dewey: Happy anniversary as well! (and good job remembering!) 🙂

    Reply

  8. Stop and smell the coffee, I love that, although coffee kind of goes against feeling all relaxed and soothed!

    Love you too sugar,
    Apparent Dipbo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

