Personality tests and random blogging bits

Click to view my Personality Profile page

I’m never sure how I feel about these personality tests. There were so many questions that I felt I could answer multiple ways. The fact that I’m introverted is pretty spot on, however. Here’s what an INFJ personality is:

INFJs, making up an estimated 1% of all people, are the most rare type (males even more so). They are introspective, caring, sensitive, gentle and complex people that strive for peace and derive satisfaction from helping others. INFJs are highly intuitive, empathetic and dedicated listeners. These traits tend to act as a “tell me what’s wrong” sign on their forehead, hence the nicknames Confidant, Counselor or Empath. INFJs are intensely private and deeply committed to their beliefs.

I am rare! And I completely agree with all of the nice stuff (heh), and I’m sure I would be deeply committed to my beliefs…if only I could figure out what those are.  The thing is, I am a deeply private person, but with people that I trust and consider to be close friends, I think I transform into a much more extroverted personality.  Oh, and the whole “striving for peace” thing–it doesn’t really take into account the fact that I’m quick to anger (I blame my red hair) and I can swear a blue streak.  But again, I tend to flare up most readily with people that I’m close to (which is unfair to them).  I guess I do strive for peace in a theoretical sense and when strangers are involved, but let’s just say that when I have my cranky pants on and feel that I have been treated unfairly, I can be a bit, um, confrontational.  It’s something I’m working on.

Alright, that’s enough introspecting for one day!

Coming up on the blogging agenda:  I would like to start my summer poetry challenge posting early because a) one of my poems is Dante’s Inferno and b) I won’t have the interwebs at home next week as we’re moving.  So here’s my plan:

  • Saturday through Monday: a total of 3 posts on The Inferno
    • Post 1: Circle 1-5
    • Post 2: the rest of Hell
    • Post 3: translation-y items of interest
  • Sometime next week: the other three poems will go up when I sneak away from packing/unpacking to drink copious amounts of caffeine and sit in a cafe with internet access

Speaking of coffee, it’s time for my daily dose…

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’m an INFJ, too! But I’ve read we make up 2% of the population. Don’t be surprised, either way, if you find out way more than 1% of 2% of your blogging friends say they’re INFJ, because it’s natural that introverted, feeling people would want to write more than someone who is all extroverted and hanging out at parties instead. I like what you said, though, about being extroverted with friends. I think I behave like an extroverted person when I’m with people (and I work with tons of people and am in large groups all day long) but it’s exhausting for me and in my free time, I tend to be alone or just with family or one close friend.

    When I posted a while back about being INFJ, someone sent me an INFJ blogring, and I might still have it posted in one of my sidebars. Otherwise, maybe just google INFJ blogring? I think it was still being set up.

    Reply

  2. Dewey: I agree with you–I have worked in retail for years, and now I work part-time as an editorial assistant. It’s my job to work with people and I do it well, but when I get home, I love just being at home or hanging with close friends. I’ll definitely have to look into the INFJ blogring!

    Reply

  3. I think I’m an INTJ — close to yours! The one thing I’m sure about is the introversion — I always score very high on that one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

