Time for another challenge

I’ve noticed that since I wimped out on my previous book challenges, the blog has been tougher for some reason. So what the hell, time to throw all caution to the wind and….join another challenge!!! So here goes, I’m throwing my cap into the ring again:

Unread Authors Challenge
September 2007 through February 2008


Pour of Tor over at Sycorax Pine has come up with this one, and here are the “rules”:

    • In this time, read six books by authors you have never read before. If you would like to read more in this time frame, go for it!
      • You are welcome to approach the Challenge in any of several different ways. You can choose one or two (or 3-5) unread authors and read several of their works, or you can choose six neglected (by you) writers and read a book apiece by them. Authors of fiction, non-fiction, genre fiction, graphic novels/comics, drama, and poetry are all welcome inclusions, although the individual works you choose should be book length. I will leave the definition of “book length” to your discretion, but in my mind a full length play or epic poem would certainly count, as would collections of shorter works.

        One of the reasons I’m interested by this challenge is that all but a few books that I have in mind (on my initial list) come from my very own bookshelves. So here they are (subject to change of course):

        1. Naguib Mahfouz: Either Palace Walk or Children of the Alley
        2. Ernest Hemingway: A Farewell to Arms
        3. Jean Rhys: Wide Sargasso Sea
        4. Amos Oz: Tale of Love and Darkness
        5. D.H. Lawrence: Lady Chatterley’s Lover
        6. Ellen Wood: East Lynne

        But, because I know I’m terrible at making lists and sticking to them, here is a list of alternates (oh, how I love making lists!):

        Ok, I’m stopping for now because the list could go on and on and on. I’m going to have to stretch before this reading marathon!

        6 responses to this post.

        1. Posted by Pour of Tor on July 16, 2007 at 10:32 pm

          I love your list, LBM. Amos Oz, Saul Bellow, W. G. Sebald, Naguib Mahfouz, D.H. Lawrence, and Katherine Mansfield have all been on my to-read-for-the-first-time list forever, sadly neglected.

          In fact, my wish list for this challenge is getting so long I am beginning to think I should make this a permanent resolution – read a new author from my “Duty Calls!” list every month. Perhaps I should see how the challenge goes first. 🙂

          Reply

        2. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on July 17, 2007 at 6:43 am

          Pour of Tor: This challenge has been great for me, so thanks for coming up with it! I’ve realized that despite my good intentions, I’m not going to get to these books on my own unless I’m “challenged” to do so. Some of these have been on my shelves for years. And I love the idea of reading an unread author a month–I might have to steal the idea from you! 🙂

          Reply

        3. Posted by Dorothy W. on July 17, 2007 at 6:29 pm

          That’s a great list of books, and it sounds like a fun challenge. I’m considering reading Palace Walk soon myself.

          Reply

        4. Great challenge idea! My life is in a bit of turmoil right now, so I can’t join (sigh), but I’ll live vicariously through your journey.

          Reply

        5. After reading your list I’ve decided to take up the challenge, too. I really should be reading some of the books that have been languishing on my shelves for years rather than continuing to buy new ones. ( – and thanks for the suggestions for books to search out after I read some of my cast-asides.)

          Reply

        6. Thanks everyone for the encouragement on my choices. And Gracie, I love enabling people in reading more books, so I’m glad you’re in on the challenge! I can’t wait for September 1st to roll around!

          Reply

        Leave a Reply

