Back from a brief break

Ok, I’ve decided that my blogging break is over more or less. Unfortunately, not much has been happening to blog about. My parents visited over July 4th which was nice, and this week my mother-in-law is in town (so blogging might be sporadic at best for a bit yet). And after that? Well, having cleaned up the apartment a bit this weekend, we realized that we have some serious cleaning/packing in our immediate future. So what do I do instead? I join the “mystery stole” knitting group online rather than do any sort of activity that might resemble work in the slightest (or reading for that matter). It extends over a roughly 7 week period in which we get a “clue” each week consisting of the next chart. If all goes well, I will have finished a lace stole by the end of the summer! I’m a little shocked at the very idea that I might actually finish something, so I’m not going to hold my breath. I am quite proud of the fact that I have almost finished the first clue, so if I manage to squeeze in some knitting time this week I might be able to catch up with everyone else (I missed the first week and a half more or less). But I was insanely excited to find that I had everything I needed already. I have achieved a level of comfort in my knitting stash when I can pull yarn out on a whim. Hooray!

So my goal this week will be to take some pics to share while hanging out with my mom-in-law, and generally avoiding the boxes that are just waiting to be taped up and filled.

Sadly, I don’t have an acquisitions list for this week: our local library is closed on Sundays and after going to an “art in the park” festival in the morning, we missed our chance on Saturday. I feel strangely bereft without my weekly library visit… But there is plenty of reading in my future without a visit. I have to get through some of the books on my TBR list, and I would like to get a start on Dante’s Inferno for the Summer Poetry Challenge. Perhaps I’ll make a weekly reading goal. It would require another list, which is always great fun and makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something even when I haven’t. But perhaps I’ll save that for another post.

Leave a Reply

