Weekly book binge

Because Apparent Dip is out of town for another week, I was forced to endure the humiliation of returning an ungodly amount of books to the library all on my own. Usually I take the cowardly approach and have him return them for me. Luckily, the librarian who is usually staffing the desk wasn’t there, so there was a bit of anonymity involved. So I felt a bit less guilty as I proceeded to check out 7 more books. Victory is mine however, as I returned 11! So here are this week’s acquisitions:

  • Still as Death by Sarah Stewart Taylor (an academic mystery series I like)
  • The Savage Garden by Mark Mills (another academic mystery I’ve been intrigued by)
  • Generations of Winter by Vassily Aksyonov (described by a distrustful blurb as the 20th century equivalent of War and Peace.  As it is significantly smaller than a door stop, I’ll have to see about that.)
  • Ragtime in Simla by Barbara Cleverly (another mystery set during the British Raj–I remember being ambivalent about the first one, but we’ll see)
  • Khrushchev’s Cold War by Aleksandr Fursenko and Timothy Naftali (this is the second time I’m checking it out, so I hope I can actually get to it this time)
  • The Ghost Orchid by Carol Goodman (Danielle mentioned Goodman here and I thought I would give her a shot)
  • The Seduction of Water by Carol Goodman (see above)
  • Dante’s Inferno translated by Robert and Jean Hollander (for the Summer Poetry Challenge)
  • Paradise Lost by John Milton
  • Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen (I’ve read everything by Austen except Northanger Abbey but I have a monstrous one-volume collection and I prefer individual volumes so I thought I would pick this one up)
  • At Large and At Small: Familiar Essays by Anne Fadiman (I’m a fan of Fadiman and couldn’t resist her new essay collection)
I’ve already finished Still as Death, although reading a murder mystery is perhaps not the wisest tactic for someone who tends to jump at shadows when alone.  Will I ever learn?  Evidently not as I’m on a mystery/thriller kick, evidence that my summer slump has set in.  I had plans, plans, and even more plans for what I would be reading this summer and, well…let’s just say I’m not.  Reading that is.  Unless it’s a mystery. However, I’m allowing myself to take this little mental vacation until my most recent order of books arrives sometime this week.  I’ve ordered the novels I’ll be reading in one of my fall courses, so I’m going to make a concerted effort to get started on them a bit early.  Particularly as the rest of my summer seems to be increasingly busy and I would like to accomplish something.
Besides, I’ve found that I often need the break that reading a fun book or two a day can give me.  It gets me back into the swing of things and my mind is more inclined to settle down to a loose baggy Victorian monster.
So bring on the insomnia-inducing mysteries!
One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Pour of Tor on July 16, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    I frequently get (what I interpret, perhaps over-sensitively, to be) judging glances from the librarians when I check stacks of books out and (viewing my account) they mutter lightly “That’s a lot of books you have out….”

    Then, in the ultimate in library-embarassment, I hit the maximum number of books you could check out. Which I think is 150. And I had to go home, and give a long hard look at my shelves, and ponder what I should return.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

