weekly acquisitions

Some people have a favorite bar, others a café or restaurant where they are regulars. They can walk in and sit at their usual table, order their usual drink/meal and they are easily recognized by the bar tender(s), baristas, and wait staff. Me? I have a library. A library where they know me so well that they don’t even need my library card anymore. That’s right, I walked in today and they knew where to look on the shelves of holds and had everything ready to go by the time I made my way to the counter. Oy….

So here’s this week’s acquistions:

  1. The Secret Agent by Joseph Conrad
  2. Under Western Eyes by Joseph Conrad
  3. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  4. The Visible World by Mark Slouka
  5. The Secret of Lost Things by Sheridan Hay
  6. The Complete Sherlock Holmes (volume I) by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  7. One Skein by Leigh Radford

I loved Conrad’s The Heart of Darkness, so I’ve decided to explore more of his works. And Barnes & Noble was having a buy 2 get one free deal on the classics, so I made sure to pick a few up. Now it’s only a matter of deciding what to read first…

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thermo on June 17, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    A geologist in St.Beat thinks going to the library with a “regular” is really fun to watch. Soon he will be home to view it again.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Carl V. on June 19, 2007 at 11:53 am

    Choosing what to read first isn’t always easy after a book buying or library binge, is it? If I could perfect the art of reading more than one book at the exact same time I would be a happier person…and my to read piles might actually get smaller.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on June 19, 2007 at 11:57 am

    carl: I completely agree. My problem is that I do try to read multiple books at once, (i’ve even tried listening to an audio book while reading a different book altogether). The result is that I never finish anything!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

