this week’s acquisitions

I realized that I have fallen way behind on my weekly acquisitions, so it’s about time I revive the practice. Here’s this week’s haul (most of which are from the library):

  1. Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn (finished today as well–I’ll have a review coming soon!)
  2. La Dame d’Esprit: A Biography of the Marquise du Châtelet by Judith Zinsser (bio of a woman who translated Newton’s Principia into French, was Voltaire’s lover, and moved in Enlightenment circles)
  3. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad (for the “best summer reading list ever” [BSRLE])
  4. Stories by Katherine Mansfield (because Danielle highly recommends her and I would like to expand my short story reading–on the BSRLE)
  5. A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway (BSRLE)
  6. The Top Ten: Writers Pick Their Favorite Books edited by J. Peder Zane (because I can’t resist a book list, much less a lot of them)
  7. Only Revolutions by Mark Danielewski (I am fascinated by the way Danielewski experiments with the physical and narrative form of the novel)

After the library excursion, Apparent Dip and I went to our favorite little cafe for some iced coffee. I started Silent in the Grave and found myself drawn in immediately. I continued to read it off and on throughout the rest of the day. By the time I went to bed, I couldn’t bring myself to put it down, and I finished it at 2 in the morning. Yup, I read a 500+ page book in one day (more or less). I’ll do a better review in another post, but for now: if you like novels set in the Victorian age, interesting characters, and a mystery, this is a definite read. Now I can’t wait for the second novel! Such a wonderful first weekend of my “official” summer.

Leave a Reply

