reading the world 2007

Scott Esposito over at Conversational Reading has dedicated his Friday column to Reading the World 2007, which highlights reading works in translation through the month of June (and hopefully beyond). I was really introduced to translation in any sort of meaningful way when I became Russian major in college, and I loved every minute of it. I’ve lost a lot of my language ability (at least where speaking is concerned) but last year I took a translation course and it was a truly eye-opening experience. Translators are seemingly invisible, and yet they have an immense amount of power to change the shape and tone of a narrative based on their own grasp and understanding of the original.

Anyway, for a list of the books being sponsored this month, check out the Reading the World website and then head on over to Words without Borders. Immersing yourself in books is one of the cheapest ways to experience another culture (albeit not perfectly, I know). Enjoy!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Danielle on June 1, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Thanks for the links. I am trying to read more books in translation. I always wonder how different the translated version is from the original–with a good translator–hopefully not too different!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Queen Mother on June 2, 2007 at 7:02 am

    The fact that The Queen Mother is highly allergic to cats has me thinking that the fact that you keep adding cats to the pet group is in fact sending a subliminal message to me. Hmmmmmm! Could it be that they are trying to keep the Queen Mother in her castle and away from their little hovel. Methinks that I have hit on something.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

