blogging with a vengeance

Can you tell that I’ve finished my papers and no longer feel guilty about spending time in the blogosphere? Somehow I convinced myself that if I didn’t post new entries, then that meant I could disregard the time spent reading other people’s entries. Yeah, I can rationalize anything!

Now that I have rejoined the “real” world, I looked around my apartment and realized that research is really detrimental to my already (admittedly, unabashedly) poor housecleaning skills. Haphazard piles of books and papers have taken over every flat surface of the house. Now, granted, Apparent Dip and I are genetically predisposed to clutter, but this has gone waaaay too far.

So, in addition to coming up with the “best summer reading list ever,” I will be embarking on another project. It’s a little something called: “You mean we have a floor?” I need to return all research books to the library (it’s so cathartic!) and organize the journal articles I’ve collected and enter them into my computer (and clean up the backlog of articles that need to be entered), and I need to seriously reorganize my bookshelves.

But given that I’m still “recovering” from the latest paper, I will instead present gratuitous pictures of my cats and rabbit:

Here is Myzithra (we named her after our favorite cheese). She is by far our craziest animal (she’s the black and white one with a grin on her face):


She’s sitting with Meshuggenah. As they are only a few months apart in age (we think, they were both rescued so it’s hard to know for sure), they get along quite well. Their favorite activities are destroying things and getting into trouble (usually in the wee small hours of the morning). Here’s what they do when we’re not home:


As you can see, they have a very demanding life. Our oldest cat Koshka generally has no time for the young whippersnappers as she’s more mature (read: cranky) and responsible (read: disdainful) than they are (ok, she’s not really old, she’s seven, and she’s really my cat as she generally dislikes anybody and anything that isn’t me–including Apparent Dip, poor guy):


The patriarch of this den of feline females is THUNDER! the rabbit (who insists that we type his name that way as it makes him seem more powerful and in charge–he’s only a little delusional). THUNDER! has been a rather expensive pet because early in his bunny life he thought it would be great fun to chew through a computer cord, shorting out everything but his life:


He looks innocent and snuggly, but don’t let that fool you. Now that he’s old he just hangs out, but back in the day he used to cause quite a bit o’grief. So that’s the menagerie! I apologize if you dislike looking at cute animal pictures, but I figure that once in a while it never hurts to remember that there are critters out that that could care less if I write the best paper or read the best books. Hell, all they really care about is getting fed and bugging us when it’s least convenient to do so (as in Myzithra trying to crawl under the covers to bite us at 4 in the morning). Good times…

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Danielle on May 31, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Cute kitties! Cute rabbit, too. Congrats on finishing those papers!! I get behind reading blogs, too, and I don’t even have to study!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by David on May 31, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    Those pictures are classic. Seriously though, three cats? You’re lucky you’re married otherwise I would consider you one cat away from the Crazy Cat Lady handle.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on May 31, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    David–I thought the picture of Koshka glowering at the camera was particularly fitting. Just wait, once THUNDER! goes to the carrot patch in the sky and we’re a little more settled, then it’s time to bring on the dogs! We’ll need a farm for all the animals…

    Reply

  4. Posted by Thermochronic on June 1, 2007 at 7:03 am

    Project “we have a floor”, hmm, I heard this rumor we also have a dining rooom table! What excitement!

    Reply

  5. Posted by pen on June 2, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    Congratulations on finishing your last paper! Hope all went well and that you are enjoying your freedom! Cutest cats and rabbit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

