hmmmm, decisions, decisions….

At last, I have turned in one of the dreaded papers and am FREE! Well, for a few days at least. Tomorrow Apparent Dip and I head out to Washington D.C. and I couldn’t be more excited. We’re taking the train (a first for me) and it’s a ten-hour journey. Which raises the all-important question: What books to bring? I have decided to take a break from academic-ese for the trip, so I’m free to bring “fun” books. However, there’s a good chance I’ll be stopping by some bookstores in D.C., so I don’t want to bring too many along to start with….

Don Quixote and the Tadie biography of Proust are chunksters, but DQ could be just what the doctor ordered for an overloaded brain. And I generally like to have a spread of fiction and non-fiction. Swann’s Way will be making the journey with me, but I start getting nervous: what if I finish the first volume while I’m there? Should I bring the second as a backup? From experience I can almost guarantee that the second volume will never be touched, but that won’t stop me from lugging it along. Perhaps I should at least attempt to bring one of my other challenge books? Oh, if all decisions could be this enjoyable….

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mother-in-Law on May 9, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Good going. Now relax and enjoy your trip.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Queen Mother on May 10, 2007 at 6:45 am

    Ah the seasons of finishing. The Queen Mother had her retirement party and understands your happiness. Have an enjoyable trip. Trains are wonderful things and I enjoy the soothing sounds that come along with the trip. Even the whistle is a comforting sound.

    Now in reference to the retirement party that means that while she will be retiring from the working world – she will NEVER reire from being Queen Mother of your world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

