may flowers

April was a pretty dark month for me, and I can’t just blame that on the couple of weeks of winter that hit us in the middle. I had really begun to doubt my decisions, which is nothing new, but unpleasant nonetheless.

But huzzah! Not only has spring arrived in earnest, but April’s showers are definitely leading to May flowers for me! I’ve been given a great opportunity at school and some much needed encouragement from my professors. I got a raise at work (not much, but it keeps the kitties fed) AND I came home to find Cervantes waiting for me in my foyer (it’s not really “our” foyer, since we don’t own the house, we just rent the second-floor apartment. But it’s fun to say, so I’m claiming it). Luckily, it wasn’t Cervantes in person (as a ~400-year-old corpse would be rather unpleasant to see in one’s foyer after a long day at work). It was just his biography, but there’s something about seeing the book package waiting for me on the stairs that makes me oh-so-happy. I’m feeling so good, that I will even let my husband continue his “I told you so” dance for a while (he’s perfected this one, I have to say).

On the reading front, this is the first day of three (yes, three) challenges for me! Cervantes, Proust, and the Non-Fiction Five challenge. I’m thinking of starting the NFF challenge with the book Uncommon Grounds. It’s a history of coffee, and for those of you who know me, you know that coffee is my life’s blood. Without it, I do. not. function. I tried to go cold turkey recently, and it was disastrous. I have the new translation of Proust, Grossman’s translation of Cervantes, biographies galore, and Chabon’s new book waiting oh-so-patiently on top of the seismic-disaster area that is the floor by my bed (there are too many books for the bedside table).

But now, back to work…..(I can’t celebrate too much, I still have papers to finish up).

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Thermochronic on May 1, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    It should be noted that your cold turkey experiment lasted about 6 hours, and that one reason it failed is that you “started it” during one of the busiest and most stressful times of your semester. Reminds me of the line from “Airplane”, “I picked a hell of a week to stop smoking..”

    Reply

  2. Posted by Danielle on May 1, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    I really want to read Proust, too. I know I can’t possibly with Don Quixote, not to mention I am in the middle of David Copperfield and just starting Tess. But I will read him eventually! Glad you’re joining the DQ group! Sorry to hear April was cruddy, but hopefully things will look up in May!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mother-in-Law on May 2, 2007 at 11:16 am

    So tell me more about your opportunities at school.

    Also, if you want a list of good books about coffee, contact your brother-in-law!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Queen Mother on May 3, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Queen Mother would also like to know what the opportunities are at school. Do tell, do tell

    Reply

Leave a Reply

