in a funk

I know I say that Hell has frozen over quite often, but in this case, I seriously think it has. For the first time in a REALLY long time, I just don’t feel like talking, which means I don’t have too much to say on the blog lately either. Queen Mother has often remarked that ever since I was a child I had the special gift of “making people’s ears tired,” so for me, being quiet is something of a novelty.

I’ve also been in a reading funk lately, so I think I might have to remain silent on the book challenge front for a while as well. Once the semester ends next week I’ll probably whip out my “Once Upon a Time” challenge books, but I’m really looking forward to settling in with some loose baggy monsters: namely Proust and Cervantes. I also have to draw up a reading list for this summer, because if this initial foray into the world of graduate literature courses has taught me anything, it’s that I have a lot more to read up on. English is not History–and although the difference isn’t insurmountable by any means, there is a difference. Different rhetoric, different standards of evidence, different arguments… I feel like I’ve dropped into the deep end of the pool on this one, so I either learn to swim fast, or I’ll have to get the hell out of the water.

So for now, bear with me, I’m sure I’ll be back to exhaust your ears (or eyes in this case) in no time.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by David on April 26, 2007 at 11:55 am

    Keep your head above water and you’ll succeed. You always do. I could see you switching focus again to maybe to economics.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Queen Mother on April 26, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    The Queen Mother feels that funks produce growth and growth produces awsome results and learning. While you did make the Courts ears tired you did not babble about nothingness. Keep to the road and watch for curves and you will be fine. You can survive anything until the end of the semester. You and your charming prince brother are made of tough stuff. Remember your ancestors “they came here not even knowing the language . . . . . “

    Reply

  3. Posted by Harleyman on April 29, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    Yeah, what she said……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

