Book gains (for the past 2 weeks)

I am late getting to my book gains (and I have two weeks to account for), but here’s the damage.

  1. Stardust by Neil Gaiman (for the fantasy challenge)
  2. His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik (fantasy challenge)
  3. To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis (fantasy challenge)
  4. 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die
  5. Mirror to America: The Autobiography of John Hope Franklin by (you guessed it) John Hope Franklin
  6. A Day of Small Beginnings by Lisa Pearl Rosenbaum
  7. The Case of the Missing Books by Ian Sansom
  8. The Ladies of Grace Adieu by Suanna Clarke (fantasy challenge)
  9. Thomas Hardy by Claire Tomalin
  10. The Snake Agent by Liz Williams (fantasy challenge)
  11. Warped Passages: Unraveling the Mysteries of the Universe’s Hidden Dimensions by Lisa Randall (I have a penchant for theoretical physics–which you wouldn’t know given my viscerally unpleasant reaction to my college physics course [or perhaps just my professor] and this book has been highly recommended by some of the people in Apparent Dip’s department, so I thought I would give it a go–so far it’s a great read).
  12. Woman’s Fiction: A Guide to Novels by and about Women in America, 1820-1870 by Nina Baym (research)
  13. Writing for Immortality: Women and the Emergence of High Literary Culture in America by Anne E. Boyd (research)
  14. Private Woman, Public Stage: Literary Domesticity in Nineteenth-Century America by Mary Kelley (research)
  15. A Thick and Darksome Veil: The Rhetoric of Hawthorne’s Sketches, Prefaces, and Essays by Thomas Moore (research)
  16. Making the “America of Art”: Cultural Nationalism and Nineteenth-Century Women Writers by Naomi Z. Sofer (research)
  17. Hawthorne and the Real: Bicentennial Essays edited by Millicent Bell (research)
  18. Citizens of Somewhere Else: Nathaniel Hawthorn and Henry James by Dan McCall (research)
  19. Reclaiming Authorship: Literary Women in America, 1850-1900 by Susan S. Williams (research)
  20. Hawthorne and Women: Engendering and Expanding the Hawthorne Tradition edited by John Idol, Jr. and Melinda M. Ponder (research)
  21. “The Only Efficient Instrument”: American Women Writers and the Periodical, 1837-1916 edited by Aleta Feinsod Cane and Susan Alves (research)

It looks bad, but part of my reasoning in including the books I’ve picked up for research is to assure myself that I’m actually accumulating books for academic purposes as well. It’s no wonder, however, that my husband has reason to mourn the loss of our dining room table! I like to argue that he can make use of a couple of labs as well as his office at work for research space, so it’s only fair if I take over the living room and dining room as my “lab” space. I don’t think he buys it, but he’ll come round to my way of “logical thinking” eventually….

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Carl V. on April 10, 2007 at 9:02 am

    Wow, great haul!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

