Thank goodness it’s almost Friday!

As I tried to recover from one of my many panic attacks last night (these are arriving ever more frequently whenever I look at a calendar), I realized that the week has somehow disappeared on me. I thought perhaps I had merely misplaced it beneath a pile of dirty laundry, but no, it turns out, the week is pretty much gone for good and I now have to buckle down and get a move on with my work. I need to stop researching and read what I have collected thus far before I do anything else. Because I am, I truly am, trying to work on things in a more timely fashion (plus, I really don’t have a choice as I have a number of smaller papers coming due, which my profs cannily inserted into the syllabus to get us sloth-like procrastinators in gear!). In addition to that, I’ve decided to take on some “fun” research for a book I want to write (yup, Queen Mother, I’m dipping my toes into the world of writing fiction again–although this time it won’t be a blatant rip-off of a Nancy Drew book, like the “book” I wrote in fourth grade). PLUS, I would like to finish another paper that’s been hanging over my head for a year now. All I can say is: BRING IT ON!

In the meantime, my “fun” reading has taken a hit, but I intend to remedy that once I get my schedule worked out. Middlemarch continues to draw me in, Forgetfulness is patiently waiting for me to continue, and Wizard of the Crow is continually taunting me from the top of the pile o’books in the living room. But with this change in weather (it feels like spring!) I’m feeling re-energized, so I’m confident it will all work out (because it has to, and that’s all there is to it).

But I’m really, really, really glad that tomorrow is Friday….

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Danielle on March 22, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    I see that students are the same everywhere. Things have gotten decidedly busier at my library, too. Spring break is over, and now it is time to crack down on those papers. At least you aren’t waiting until the week before the semester ends! Good luck getting everything done!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on March 22, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    Thanks, Danielle! I just left a ph.d. program where our academic year was based on the quarter system and it didn’t feel like there was as much time to procrastinate (although I did plenty of that). But now that I’m back on the semester system, it’s harder for me to kick into gear until there’s only a month left, and a month is precious little time to write two research papers (which I would ideally like to try to publish–after much revision I’m sure). But I take comfort in the fact that students are all in the same boat! At least then I can point to someone else and say, “but see! they’re not done yet either!” Always looking for an excuse to deflect the guilt…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Queen Mother on March 31, 2007 at 11:56 am

    Queen mother cares to differ with your assessment on your previous writings. In your “Nancy Drew” rip off you were very much different – you did not go for a hot fudge sunday after you solved the crime, and your semi-mystical whatever series was more a mystery romance (you must have been getting interested in boys at the time). In all cases you wrote wonderfully and with wit and sensitivity. I loved them. PS. writing must run in the family. Bryce G just won a second place awared in a county-wide competition. Searching, searching searching, like a squirrel……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

