decisions, decisions…

Ok, so I could do the Brontës OR Proust. Which do I choose? Perhaps I should stick with Proust and read the Brontës “unofficially” as a personal challenge–which I should probably do anyway if I’m considering Victorian lit as a possible ph.d. choice. I’ll probably stick with Proust if only because I like saying his name…. I have until April 30th to decide for sure, so if anyone wants to weigh in on this and help me decide….I will probably listen politely and then COMPLETELY disregard whatever anyone recommends. (NOTE: please do not take offense if this happens–I’m known by all as one of the most stubborn women ever to walk the earth. I’m also notorious for listening to advice, shooting it down, and then appropriating the advice as my own “original” thought at a later date. Just ask Apparent Dip [aka Mr. Loose-Baggy-Monster-with-a-different-last-name-and-no-hair]. The poor man, in a fit of delirium he agreed to put up with that for the rest of his life….Perhaps he’s the one who should be given advice?)

Time to put on the thinking cap…(crap, I think I lost it!)

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by nessie on March 19, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    there are no bragging writes like Proust. You can put this on your cv man!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on March 20, 2007 at 6:53 am

    Hell yeah! I intend to!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on March 20, 2007 at 9:14 am

    I think I have definitely decided to go with Proust, if only because I have decided to buy the volumes, rather than get them from the library, and I’m looking forward to more fat books with rough-cut pages! Ahh, the life of a bibliophile… Besides, I WILL be reading the Brontes many times over in my career (if I ever get one) so Proust wins!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Danielle on March 20, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    I would have a hard time deciding between the two, also. If I weren’t already planning on reading a long book this summer I would try this challenge, but I know I will fail miserably. I do want to read Proust, and more of the Bronte’s work, too!! Good luck deciding!

    Reply

  5. Posted by nessie on March 21, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Ok so like if your canadian Chapters and Indigo are selling Vol 2 & 3 in hardcover for 9$ each! What a deal.

    I’m with you on the idea babe. We are gonna have a blast I promise~!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on March 21, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    I may have to check that out! Thanks for the heads up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

