a little ego boost is always a welcome thing

Every once in a while I google my name to see if I’m important or not (I’m not, thank god). However, today I discovered that a paper I wrote a few years ago for my history M.A. (and which was published in the department’s journal) is being used as a reading assignment on my professor’s syllabus! I am on a syllabus! (And in a good way, thank goodness). This has totally made my day, for as many of my readers (at least, those who know me personally) may know, I was battling a MAJOR case of writer’s block last year, a block so severe that it led to my decision to rethink my career choice. I began to think that I was little more than a one-hit wonder (which is bad enough if you’re a rock star, it’s even worse when you’re a historian/undecided academic). So this little bit o’validation has made me feel like I can conquer the world. (I wish I could bottle this feeling so when I crash 5 minutes from now I can remember the elation.) I may only be a one-hit wonder, but now I’m a one-hit wonder on a syllabus!

And now, back to reality–before I take on the world, perhaps I should at least attempt to conquer my reading for this week’s class…

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Clair on March 19, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Congratulations! Which class? Hope this little boost helps in avenging writer’s block.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on March 19, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    It’s Barbara’s grad class on Antebellum Reform. I’m hoping this kicks my butt back into high gear.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Queen Mother on March 19, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    The queen mother would like to congratulate you as well. However, she who birthed you knew that as you walked around the house saying kuta kuta ka that you had it in you. Also blocks are meant to be moved and removed and stomped on. You go girl!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Literary Feline on March 19, 2007 at 11:36 pm

    How neat! Congratulations!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on March 20, 2007 at 6:50 am

    Thanks everyone! Now I just have to keep the momentum going!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Danielle on March 20, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    How cool! My name is actually pretty common, so whenever I google I just read about other people’s lives who happen to share my name. I think I prefer it that way,though.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Mother-in-Law on March 22, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    I found my copy of your paper and reread it. It’s a great study for the class!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

