A Challenge I Can’t Refuse!

After Wisconsin’s devastating loss in the NCAA tourney yesterday, I snapped out of my grief in time to realize that cheese curds and beer would probably destroy my chance at achieving my goal of being a healthier and happier reader. So, needing something else to bring my spirits up (because in one of the NCAA pools I’m in, I’m currently getting my butt whipped by a nine-year old) I decided to take on another reading challenge. The complete rules can be found on the Biblio Files blog, here.


The challenge: to read a series consisting of 7 books over the summer (May 1st – September 1st, 2007). But this isn’t just any series, this is Proust! I’ve had Swann’s Way sitting impatiently on my bookshelf for several years now, and I think it’s time to dive in! The other option is to read all of the Brontë sisters’ novels, but as I’ve already read two (Wuthering Heights and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall) I should probably move on to something that I haven’t even started. So here are the books that I’ll be reading in addition to the Non-fiction Five Challenge, and the NYT Notable Books Challenge. Overly ambitious? Most likely. But at least I’ll know that I’ll be a TOTAL conversation killer at cocktail parties when I’m done!

  1. Swann’s Way
  2. In the Shadow of Young Girls in Flower
  3. The Guermantes Way
  4. Sodom and Gomorrah
  5. The Prisoner
  6. The Fugitive
  7. Finding Time Again

Quick question: is there a specific translation of Proust that is admired by one and all? If anybody has any suggestions, let me know!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by nessie on March 19, 2007 at 10:31 am

    Oh my god! I love it. You can do either… I really don’t mind. As long as its challenging and you understand the conciquences 😉

    Did you know I am doing both Bronte and Proust. Am reading Erickson NOW though (note: I put 3 series I really wanted to do 😉 Also signed up for the non fic challenge. Cant wait for summer… this is gonna be a blast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

