Reading update

I’ve been dawdling on my challenge reading, and a recent email from my local library has shocked me into action. I have 6 books waiting for me to pick up–SIX! I think three of them are challenge books, and one is a knitting book, but nevertheless, it drove home the point that I have a crapload to read and I’d better get cracking! I’ve been sidetracked by Middlemarch (damn you, George Eliot!), although I have also given a valiant effort to reading some articles for research/class (ok, reading three articles is nowhere near valiant, but I used a lot of highlighter, does that count?). And in the last few days, there’s been the sick-cat factor, and yesterday college basketball dominated the scene. Time to set some goals on paper (if only because it gives me an excuse to write another list). So here’s my overly ambitious schedule of reading for the rest of the month of March:

  • Finish Forgetfulness by Ward Just (a NYT challenge book)
  • Finish North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell (has to be finished by the 29th)
  • Read ~400 pages of Trollope’s Can You Forgive Her?
  • Start another challenge book (although I may have to use one of my nonfiction selections–I’m feeling some withdrawal)–I’m thinking The Courtier and the Heretic or Sweet and Low (although Apex Hides the Hurt might keep me in the realm of fiction)
  • Get a good start on Wizard of the Crow

This really shouldn’t be too hard to do–my class load is lighter for the next two weeks (although I should be doing research) and I’ve gone to the lengths of mapping out exactly how many pages I should read a day of the Gaskell and Trollope to keep me on track. It’s rather useful to do this I find–breaking it down into manageable units rather than seeing the whole book lying on the table in front of me (is there a lesson for life in that technique? Probably, although it’s so much more interesting to keep things in a comfortable state of chaos…)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Scott Hughes on March 16, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    I haven’t read any of those books. If their good, say so. Happy reading!

    You might like the Book & Reading Forums.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on March 16, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks! I’ll definitely check the forum out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

