Temptation

I have something of a bag fetish–tote bags and messenger bags in particular. I’ve always been a big fan of the timbuk2 bags, but for something a bit more chic, I’ve been at a bit of a loss (not that I haven’t tried valiantly to find the ideal chic specimen of bag-perfectness). It has to be able to hold my 12″ laptop on occasion, and on a regular basis it has to be able to hold a few books. But I want something that isn’t too structured or that screams “boardroom.” I mean, I do not in the slightest degree pretend to be the chic-est person (I essentially live in jeans–a long-lasting side effect of Catholic school uniform trauma) and I’m in grad school for literature, so it has to have a little slouchiness to it. And today I think I found it. The. Perfect. Bag. For. Me.


It’s the Ashbury four-pocket hobo bag from Banana Republic and I’m in love (although my wallet isn’t in this month of tax-induced nausea). But someday, it will be mine. For the time being, I’ll try to wipe the drool off my laptop and resign myself to looking from afar. Sigh.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Clair on March 14, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    Great bag! However, in our not-too-long acquaintance (is it five years – is that possible??), I have heard you utter that phrase before. When you’re tired of the old “perfect bags” perhaps you’ll sell them to a bag envious friend.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on March 14, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    Perhaps it’s best that I can only dream about the bag. Once I have it, it always ends up being less perfect than I imagined. but then again, maybe this one will be different….

    Reply

  3. Posted by Queen Mother on March 16, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    The Queen Mother can attest to your fetish with any sort of bags, boxes, containers and pouches;however,I do believe that this is an all purpose bag. Perhaps we could throw down the gauntlet and who ever becomes less fluffy could gain some funds toward the aforesaid bag?????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

