Distractions…

As an update on why I’ve been incommunicado for the past few days (sorry Queen Mother and Harley Man), I’ve been rather preoccupied by a few things (particularly the cat issue which I will get to).

I feel rather ambivalent about spring breaks (and weekends). I love the first day because so much “free” time seems to be stretching before me and I have plans on how much I’m going to accomplish. And then, reality hits, and before you know it, I’ve spent my precious time away from classes doing little more than reveling in the luxury of utter procrastination. Ah well, better to have discovered this with two full days and a weekend of break left than to be surprised by that revelation on Sunday evening. Perhaps I can turn the tide, although on the other hand, perhaps I’ll wait and do that tomorrow.

I have the best intentions when it comes to reading, but something always manages to distract me. Lately, it’s been knitting. I have spent the last few days looking over baby knit books and my head is full of ideas for projects for my future nephew. I’m trying to pace myself, but I’m just so excited at the prospect of being the crazy aunt who makes sweaters that he will one day be embarrassed to wear! The possibilities are endless! However, I forced myself to select a few patterns (which shall remain a surprise) to start with and I placed an order for yarn last night, so I’m hoping that while I wait for it to arrive I will be able to get back to some reading.

I have also been distracted by the fantastic weather we’ve been having! I even love the rain because it feels like spring. I know that by tonight it’s supposed to get back into the freezing range, but for a blissful 5 days or so we’ve had sunshine, warmth, and gentle breezes. I missed the seasons when I lived on the West Coast, so it’s nice to have them back. I love the fact that the weather I wake up to might have little in common with the weather that appears by evening. And winter, while it can get dreary, also makes one appreciate the spring so much more. I generally dislike winter and summer (they are too extreme for me), but they make spring and fall so worthwhile. Note: The sad thing is, that I’ve only been outside for brief moments, so the “nicer weather” comments are based on the hearsay of the weather people on tv (whom I’m not allowed to watch anymore since I spend too much time telling them they’re idiots and mocking their doppler radar) and my husband’s reports. I’ve been cooped up inside dealing with what follows…

A third reason that I’ve been distracted from reading comes in the form of my oldest cat, Koshka (which is Russian for “cat.” I thought I was being clever at the time, but it isn’t very original–although don’t tell her that). Koshka is sick, and has been sick for the last 4 days. I’ve been very worried about her. Yesterday was spent waiting anxiously for our vet appointment which resulted in us waiting to see if she gets better before we go back for more tests. Today I’ve tried to read, but that gets interrupted when she’s about to be sick again (we live in an apartment and she’s already made a mess of the carpeting–we’re hoping that a good steam clean will do the trick–so we try to follow her around and prevent future messes). I know I sound like a crazy cat lady (and I am to a certain extent, in that I’m a little tetched and I’m owned by three cats), but Koshka means the world to me and has been through a lot with me. I’m just hoping she’s ok. For those of you who know Koshka (or her wrath, which is more likely), you’ll be happy to know that being sick does not mean that she can’t be cranky–now she just has an excuse.

As it’s “spring break” around here, I’ve been able to work from home, which has led to an incredible breakdown in the self-restraint I championed last week. I have been online and ordering books from my library like crazy! I have four to pick up, three on order, and three books for research arrived the other day as well. But as addictions go, I figure that it could be worse….

So now I’m off to make some coffee or hot chocolate (speaking of addictions) and to pick up some more reading. I’ve been making headway in North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell, which I’m reading for my “long 19th century” reading group at school, and I’m devouring Middlemarch which isn’t on ANY list, but seems to be fulfilling my reading needs at the moment. All I can do is follow Bob Dylan’s advice and “keep on keepin’ on….”

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Wendy on March 14, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    Oh, I’m sorry Koshka is sick! I’m a crazy cat (and dog and any other animal out there) lady, so I completely empathize. Hope she is feeling better very soon! *hugs*

    Reply

  2. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on March 14, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    Thanks Wendy! Koshka and I appreciate it. I’m sure it’s nothing too serious or the vet would have recommended immediate action, but she’s never been sick for this long before. I think it’s the first time that my husband and I are looking forward to the time when she’ll be back to hissing and swatting at him! (she’s unabashedly MY cat, and she doesn’t care who knows it) 😉

    Reply

  3. Posted by Danielle on March 14, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    Sorry to hear your cat is ill. Why is it they like to get sick on carpets rather than rugs that can be washed? I have two cats, so I understand! I love breaks, but the problem is always having such high expectations of what I am going to accomplish and then never do! As long as you are enjoying your time off! It was 80 here yesterday and a breezy, cool 60 today!! Enjoy the Gaskell (I plan on reading something by her this year) and Middlemarch. It looks like you have plenty to keep you busy/entertained!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on March 14, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    Thanks Danielle! I always plan on doing too much during my time off, but even if I don’t get everything/anything done, there’s an overall sense of relaxation that’s very welcome! I wasn’t planning on reading much this weekend as we were going to travel, but now that it looks like we’re staying put, I’ll hopefully get some more books read. And good luck on the last few (hundred) pages of W&P!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Clair on March 14, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    Poor Koshka! goyankees

    Reply

  6. Posted by Clair on March 14, 2007 at 10:23 pm

    Poor Koshka! Hope she’s better soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

