"lubby dubby all the time"

If you’re wondering where the title of this post came from, you can thank the street musician I passed on the way to the post office today. He made me smile (and not just because he sang “lubby dubby, lubby dubby, lubby dubby all the time”) because he seemed to be having such a good time–he was really belting it out, and not in any way that resembled a tune. His guitar skillz were woefully lacking as well, but hey, it’s cold outside, and playing the guitar with mittens on would defeat the purpose (although the skill level may not have changed all that much if he had–but who am I to talk? I’m a piano girl). It was great.

So I didn’t make the all-time record of three posts in one day (that’s a record for myself, that is). But I think two was more than adequate. Today I give you my updated list o’books for the NYT Notable Books of 2006 challenge. I have both fiction and non-fiction selections, but because I really want to use this challenge to read books I normally would pass by (or read only the reviews of) I’m trying to stick with more fiction than non. I have 20 fiction books on my list and 5 or 6 non-fiction–the idea is that if I feel the need, I can substitute a non-fiction book at any time. Also, I’m going to be easy on myself–I recognize that I am the world’s greatest procrastinator, so I’m not saying I have to read ALL of the books–this is just what I have culled from the list based on what appealed to me most at the time. So….drum roll please…..Here they are!

FICTION:

  • Absurdistan by Gary Shteyngart (he’s coming to speak at my U so I get to go to the reading!)
  • Against the Day by Thomas Pynchon
  • Apex Hides the Hurt by Colson Whitehead
  • Arthur and George by Julian Barnes
  • Beasts of No Nation by Uzodinma Iweala
  • Brookland by Emily Barton
  • The Dream Life of Sukhanov by Olga Grushin
  • The Emperor’s Children by Claire Messud
  • Forgetfulness by Ward Just
  • Golden Country by Jennifer Gilmore
  • Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • The Keep by Jennifer Egan
  • The Inhabited World by David Long
  • The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai
  • Old Filth by Jane Gardam
  • The Road by Cormac McCarthy
  • Skinner’s Drift by Lisa Fugard
  • Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl
  • Suite Française by Irène Némirovsky
  • A Woman in Jerusalem by A.B. Yehoshua

NON-FICTION:

  • The Courtier and the Heretic: Liebniz, Spinoza, and the Fat of God in the Modern World by Matthew Stewart
  • Flaubert: A Biography by Frederick Brown
  • The Ghost Map: The Story of London’s Most Terrifying Epidemic–and How It Changed Science, Cities, and the Modern World by Steven Johnson
  • Lee Miller: A Life by Carolyn Burke
  • The Lost: A Search for Six of Six Million by Daniel Mendelsohn
  • Sweet and Low: A Family Story by Rich Cohen

Note: I have already broken my “no more books on hold at the library” rule (I only kept that rule for one day! That is a new record of pathetic-ness). But I’ve heard such amazing things about the book Wizard of the Crow by Ngugi wa Thiongo that I HAD to! Really, I did protest…weakly. I mean, it’s a Big Fat Book! You can’t expect me to take a stand against that, can you?

Leave a Reply

