Stop the madness!

The line has to be drawn somewhere (although, given my perfectionist tendencies, it would be nice if the line could be drawn with a ruler). I must put my foot down, and that’s all there is to it. I need to start making lists (see? another reason to buy a neat journal) instead of just checking books out from the library on the fly. Otherwise they sit around until I have to return them and I have the guilt of not even touching them in the meantime (well, that’s not completely true, as I often have to shift the pile of books off the table so we have someplace to eat). I will allow myself to pick up the books I already have on hold, but then that’s it! (At least, that’s it until I find a way to rationalize myself out of this corner). But it would be nice to actually finish something. My new “regimented” reading schedule demands the following:

  • Have to read AT LEAST 1-2 chapters a night of NYT challenge book of choice
  • During the day while I’m “working,” I can read books for my coursework/research (furthermore, I should not waste this precious time by reading fun things or blogs–crap, blew that one already)
  • Can read other books, but only if I am at least attempting to accomplish the first two points on this list

Not much of a regimen, but it’s either that, or I end up crushed beneath a book-pile o’doom.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Thermochronic on February 23, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Just a reminder, your book piles o’doom endanger every member of your household, even your “amazingly erudite” husband, to quote you.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pour of Tor on February 23, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Alas, I too know the pain of having to return books to the library unread. Somehow a book becomes radically more desirable the moment it is recalled by another reader.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on February 23, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    pour of tor I think you’ve touched on something there. I am fascinated by the books that I don’t have, hence my mad rush to obtain them through libraries. Once I actually own a book, it’s all too easy for me to lose interest (at least for a time), and it’s on to the next chase!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Harleyman on February 24, 2007 at 8:58 am

    If YOU!!! are going to draw a line, ypu will need not only a ruler, but a t-square, level, several different pencils, and at least three different length measuring devices…..

    Reply

  5. Posted by Harleyman on February 24, 2007 at 11:54 am

    Oh yeah, I forgot, before you draw that line, you better get to the library and check out a book on how to draw lines………

    Reply

  6. Posted by Thermochronic on February 24, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    And lets not forget the time requred to find the right paper.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Queen Mother on February 24, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    Queen Mother feels that you should do what you love and damn the peons who feel that one must complete all that is started. If that were the rule we would never start anything new and experiment. One must always be searching, searching, searching.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on February 24, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    As Mame would say: “Live! Live! Live!”

    Reply

  9. Posted by Queen Mother on February 24, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    Or as Millie in Thoroughly Modern variety Searching, searching, searching

    Reply

  10. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on February 24, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    “…Like a squirrel, gathering the nuts of life.” How I love Thoroughly Modern Millie!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Joy on February 25, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    What a great post…and comments too. Fun reading! Oh, but this is a blog and not a book…yes, I’m guilty too.

    BTW ~ I’m so with ya on the ruler! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Posted by Clair on February 25, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    When drawing lines, one must not forget the graph paper. Lots of it. And a trash bin near by. And a cup of coffee to prepare you for the task.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

