This Week’s Folly

Here, as promised, is my embarrassingly long list of books obtained this week. I will preface this by stating that some of the books that follow are for research purposes (no really, they are!).

  1. Sister Bernadette’s Barking Dog by Kitty Burns Florey
  2. Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe
  3. The Plight of Feeling by Julia Stern
  4. The Seduction Novel of the Early Nation by Donna Bontatibus
  5. Perfecting Friendship: Politics and Affiliation in Early American Literature by Ivy Schweitzer
  6. Sensational Designs: The Cultural Work of American Fiction, 1790-1860 by Jane Tompkins
  7. Desire and the Domestic Novel: A Political History of the Novel by Nancy Armstrong
  8. Conjugal Union: The Body, the House, and the Black American by Robert Reid-Pharr
  9. The Feminization of American Culture by Ann Douglas
  10. The Garies and Their Friends by Frank J. Webb
  11. Lose Your Mother: A Journey Along the Atlantic Slave Route by Saidiya Hartman
  12. Ghosting by Jennie Erdal (about ghostwriting)
  13. The Inhabited World by David Long (NYT challenge)
  14. Arthur and George by Julian Barnes (NYT challenge)
  15. Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories by Agatha Christie
  16. Sister Pelagia and the White Bulldog by Boris Akunin (another mystery series by the author of the Erast Fandorin mysteries–I absolutely love this author!)

So, while looking over this list I have come to the conclusion that I have surpassed the bounds of delusion and am now just crazy. But I’ve also decided that I have to do a better job organizing/regimenting my reading. I’ve done nothing but read for school lately, so it’s no wonder that my concentration is slipping. Hence the need for some good mysteries, particularly the Miss Marple short stories–they’ll be like a breath of fresh air (or the quad-shot of espresso) that will give me my second wind and let my brain relax enough so I can get back to work. At least, that’s the story I’m selling myself, but if I believe that, I’ve got a bridge somewhere….

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Poplar Reader on February 19, 2007 at 11:44 am

    Of that list, I’ve only read the “Arthur & George” novel. It’s quite good. I’ve a review on my blog somewhere…..

    Reply

  2. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on February 19, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    I read your review poplar reader, and I’m really looking forward to the book. now if i can just persuade myself that every minute of every day does NOT have to be spent reading books for class…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Pour of Tor on February 21, 2007 at 11:15 am

    I too love Boris Akunin, and am intrigued by the fact that he writes every novel within a sub-genre of mystery-thriller (i.e. the Agatha Christie travel mystery, the wartime thriller, the Holmesian sleuthing mystery). However, I will have to say that the first one was by far my favorite – since then we haven’t got nearly enough insight into Fandorin’s subjectivity, which is by far the most interesting part of the series (to me).

    I also just got ‘Arthur and George’ from the library, although how soon I’ll get to it depends heavily on how soon it is recalled from me. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Danielle on February 21, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    Now that is an impressive stack! I don’t feel so bad after my last purchase! I have read the first B. Akunin novel and want to read more–he is quirky, but I like him!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Loose Baggy Monster on February 21, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    what’s even worse is that it’s only Wednesday (2.21) and I’m already piling up a ridiculous amount of books for this week! I think I have a real problem here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

