Murder and Mayhem leads to…..Rutabagas?

In response to the comments I’ve received on my “Murder She Wrote” entry I have the following to say:

In regards to Matlock, I watched a few episodes for the first time when I was back in Wisconsin this past Christmas. I have a feeling I could watch more but it’s on a bit too early here. I find that I am in dire need of restricting the allowable hours for tv/movie watching….for some reason I’ve been told that watching tv all the time won’t get me into grad school (again). Party poopers.

As far as the Inspector Morse series goes, I have read a couple of the books (unfortunately not in order which drives me crazy because I’m rather obsessive about following series in order–I love to watch the characters develop in a more orderly fashion). I think I never read more than a couple because at the time, the bookstore I worked at only had a couple in (which I read) and the library I used was not a great one for mysteries. But my interest has been piqued, so I think will start over with the series and read them, because I do love the Morse character. Such a fantastic combination of drinker-opera lover-literary buff-surly man-good detective.

To add to this, I realized that I left out Perry Mason and Columbo–I loved those as well, and I occasionally catch Columbo on weekends. I have to say, last weekend was my kind of tv-watching weekend: the Biography Channel had a “showdown” between J.B. Fletcher and Hercule Poirot. Life doesn’t get much better…..

And on to the rutabagas….For those of you wondering why the heck I mention rutabagas, it has to do with the way my mind works (or doesn’t). I am COMPLETELY unlinear in my thinking, hence, I can start talking about murder mysteries, and somehow my brain will make a connection, however tenuous, to, well, something like rutabagas. In this case I’m about to venture off into a discussion of how I need to set a schedule for myself.

If I were to try to map out the links between “Murder She Wrote” and my need for a schedule it goes something like this:

Murder She Wrote = watching tv = not doing my work = having to work in the evening = not gettng to read fun books = need to discipline myself with a schedule

That one wasn’t too bad actually. My husband (who has been with me almost 13 years now) is getting better at following my mind around, but every once in a while (like when I start a conversation with him by using a random statement that indicates I’ve been having a hypothetical conversation with him in my mind and only letting him in on it half-way through) I think I stump him. Hell, I stump myself most of the time.

Back to the schedule: yesterday I decided to “work” from home. What that actually entailed was me playing on the internet, watching tv and only intermittently reading David Walker’s Appeal. The book is engrossing and ONLY 88 PAGES LONG (including the Appendices). 88 pages! I didn’t even get through 88 pages! No wonder I have nothing to update in my “recently read” sidebar. This is really problematic (p.s. a friend of mine who is actually organized and excelling in grad school has decided we need to come up with a grad-school bingo game, using those words grad students love to throw around, like problematic). So I have to come up with something to organize my time in a better fashion. Here’s a rough draft:

7:00 a.m.–tell husband to turn his alarm off, only to realize it’s actually my alarm that’s been ringing for the past 1/2 hour.

7:30 a.m.–get pounced on by two cats (read, elephants in a former life) and finally decide to get up.

9:00 a.m.–finally get into office after running around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to gather up all the books and papers I just HAVE to read for the day.

9:00 to 10:00 a.m.–translate some Russian for kicks

10:00 -10:15 a.m.–try to forget Russian sentence structure so I can speak like a relatively normal human being without a lot of clauses, semi-colons, and the like (as you can see, I’m not so good at this).

10:15-10:30 a.m.–get coffee

11:00 – 1:00 p.m.–read for class A

1:00-1:15 p.m.–get coffee

1:30-3:30 p.m.–read for class B

3:30-3:45 p.m.–get coffee

4:00-6:00 p.m.–read for either class A or B

6:15 p.m. go home

Rest of evening: read fun books, watch tv, knit, weave, do anything but face the fact that in reality I actually ignored my well-meaning schedule (with the exception of coffee breaks) and got nothing done yet again. sigh….

Oh well, I always have rutabagas….

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Clair on February 10, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Here are some words for the graduate school bingo game:

    Zeitgeist (which could also be a reference to the San Francisco bar with the great Bloody Marys)

    Polemic

    framework

    Postmodernism

    But can we use them in a sentence?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Harleyman on February 10, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    Concerning Rutabagas….I think I can follow your connection between mysteries and rutabaga. I once read a mystery where the murder weapon was a rutabaga or the dectective was a rutabaga or was the victum was a rutabaga farmer or wait I think it might have been a cookbook….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

